FALL 2020 GRADUATE COURSES

500-LEVEL COURSES 

POL S 515 – TOPICS IN POLITICAL THEORY
SEM A2 - The Politics of Culture

SEM A1               W        0900-1150          Fiona Nicoll                      fnicoll@ualberta.ca  

Taught concurrently with POL S 404 SEM A2.

POL S 517 – PHILOSOPHICAL ISSUES OF HUMAN RIGHTS
An enquiry into the idea(s) of human rights and the adequacy of their philosophical grounding. Not open to students with credit in POL S 417 SEM A1.

SEM A1               R         1230-1520          Owuraku Kusi-Ampofo       kusiampo@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 417 A1.

POL S 524 – HEALTH POLICY
Examining public policy making structures and processes.  Taught concurrently with POL S 424 SEM A1

SEM X01             W         1800-2100          Kimberly Simmonds           kasimmon@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 424 SEM X01.

POL S 527 – POWER, POLITICS, AND POLICYMAKING IN CANADA

The institutions, processes, and dynamics involved in developing public policy in Canada.

SEM A2               M              1300-1550          Jared Wesley                   jwesley@ualberta.ca

POL S 528 – TOPICS IN POLITICS OF PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

Selected topics in the practice of public administration; content may vary from year to year.

SEM A1               T                0900-1150          Michelle Maroto              maroto@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with SOC 456 SEM A1/SOC 503 SEM A2

POL S 540 – TOPICS IN PUBLIC POLICY
SEM A1 - Conservatism in the Americas
SEM A2 - Quantitative Political Analysis

SEM A1               T           1230-1520          Julian Castro-Rea              jcrea@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 445 SEM A1.

SEM A2               T           1230-1520          Feodor Snagovsky             feodor@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 440 SEM A1

POL S 544 - GLOBAL CRITICAL RACE THEORY

Politics of race, racialisation and anti-racism in international and comparative perspective. 

SEM A1               R            0930-1220          Samantha Spady                 sspady@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 444 SEM A1. 

POL S 560 – TOPICS IN INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS
SEM A2 - Social Movements & Alternative Politics

SEM A2               W            1300-1550          Ghada Ageel                     ageel@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 459 SEM A3.

SEM A4               R            1230-1520          Ashley Esarey                  esarey@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 467 SEM A1.

POL S 580 – EUROPEAN POLITICS
SEM A1 - Populist Radical Right Politics

SEM A1               W             1300-1550          Laurie Adkin                    ladkin@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 486 SEM A1.  

POL S 599 – INTRODUCTION TO THE DISCIPLINE OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

An introduction to the professional skills and ethics training expected in Political Science as an academic discipline. POL S 599 is graded on a pass/fail basis.

 SEM A1               M               1300-1550          Yasmeen Abu-Laban        yasmeen@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 680 SEM A1.