WINTER 2021 GRADUATE COURSES 

POL S 515 – TOPICS IN POLITICAL THEORY
SEM B1 - Speed, Ability & Politics
SEM  B2 - Radical Prefigural Politics

SEM B1               R                          0930-1220          Joshua St Pierre               jstpierr@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 404 SEM B1.

SEM B2               W                         1300-1550          David Kahane                  david.kahane@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 410 SEM B2.

POL S 525 – ETHNICITY, IMMIGRATION AND SOCIAL POLICY

Social policy theories and practices designed to integrate ethnic minorities and immigrant communities, in Canada and globally.

SEM B1               R                          1230-1520          Reza Hasmath                 reza.hasmath@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 425 SEM B1.  

POL S 532 – INDIGENOUS ENGAGEMENT, GOVERNANCE, AND POLICY

The study and practice of public policy by, and as it relates to, Indigenous peoples.

SEM B2               W                         1400-1650          Matthew Wildcat              mwildcat@ualberta.ca 

POL S 536 – TOPICS IN INDIGENOUS POLITICS
SEM B1 - Reconciliation & Resurgence

A variable content course, which may be repeated if topics vary. 

SEM B1               M                         1300-1550          Rachel George                 rachel.george@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 436 SEM B1

POL S 543 – GLOBALIZATION, ETHNIC POLITICSAND THE NATION-STATE

Theories of nationalism and the nation-state in an era of globalization.

SEM B1               W                         0900-1150          Yasmeen Abu-Laban              yasmeen@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 443 SEM B1.

POL S 559 – TOPICS IN COMPARATIVE PUBLIC POLICY
SEM B1 - The Politics of Rural Places

Selected topics and approaches in comparative public policy; content may vary from year to year. 

SEM B1               T                           1230-1520          Roger Epp                        repp@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 440 SEM B1

POL S 560 TOPICS IN INTERNATIONAL POLITICS

SEM B2               R                          1230-1520          Ashley Esarey                  esarey@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 460 SEM B1.

POL S 565 – TOPICS IN FOREIGN POLICY ANALYSIS

Current approaches to the study of foreign policy that focuses the explanations upon factors within the state.

SEM B1               M                         1300-1550          Greg Anderson               greg.anderson@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 458 SEM B1.

POL S 579 – NGO GOVERNMENT AND MANAGEMENT

Organizational features, actor/stakeholder relationships, and management challenges contemporary NGOs face.

SEM B1               T                           1230-1520          Reza Hasmath                 reza.hasmath@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 479 SEM B1

POL S 596 – TOPICS IN GENDER AND POLITICS
SEM B! - Sex, Gender & Protest

SEM B1               T                           0930-1220          Margot Challborn               mchallbor@ualberta.ca

Taught concurrently with POL S 455 SEM B1.