WINTER 2022 GRADUATE COURSES 

500-LEVEL COURSE


POL S 514 – CONTEMPORARY POLITICAL THEORY
SEM B1 - Relating to Climate Change

SEM B1       R     0930-1220 David Kahane  dkahane@ualberta.ca

 


POL S 515 - TOPICS IN POLITICAL THEORY
SEM B1 - The Politics of Speed

SEM B1       T   0930-1220 Dion Blythe dblythe@ualberta.ca

 


POL S 520 – TOPICS IN CANADIAN POLITICS
SEM B1 - Political Behaviour

SEM B1  W 1300-1550    Feodor Snagovsky snagovsk@ualberta.ca

POL S 524 – HEALTH POLICY

Examining public policy making structures and processes.

SEM B1       T 1230-1520  John Church jchurch61@ualberta.ca

POL S 525 – ETHNICITY, IMMIGRATION AND SOCIAL POLICY

Social policy theories and practices designed to integrate ethnic minorities and immigrant communities, in Canada and globally.

SEM B1       W 1300-1550  Reza Hasmath hasmath@ualberta.ca

POL S 532 – INDIGENOUS ENGAGEMENT, GOVERNANCE, AND POLICY

The study and practice of public policy by, and as it relates to, Indigenous peoples.

SEM B1       W     1400-1650 Matthew Wildcat mwildcat@ualberta.ca

POL S 558 – GENDER POLITICS AND MASS MEDIA

Ways in which mass media socially construct and politicize gender.

SEM B1       T     1230-1520 Linda Trimble   ltrimble@ualberta.ca

Prerequisite: Any 200-level POL S or WGS.


POL S 560 TOPICS IN INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS

SEM B1   R     0930-1220  Roger Epp repp@ualberta.ca

POL S 565 – TOPICS IN FOREIGN POLICY ANALYSIS
SEM B1 - US Foreign Policy

Current approaches to the study of foreign policy that focuses the explanations upon factors within the state.

SEM B1       M     1300-1550 Greg Anderson   greg.anderson@ualberta.ca

POL S 577 – ISLAM, MODERNITY, AND DEMOCRACY

Political ideas and practice in Islamic countries, including historical and contemporary constructions of Islam.

SEM B1       R 1230-1520 Mojtaba Mahdavi-Ardekani mahdavia@ualberta.ca

POL S 579 – NGO GOVERNMENT AND MANAGEMENT

Organizational features, actor/stakeholder relationships, and management challenges contemporary NGOs face.

SEM B1       M 1300-1550 Reza Hasmath reza.hasmath@ualberta.ca