About the President

David H. Turpin, CM, PhD, LLD, FRSC, is the 13th president and vice-chancellor of the University of Alberta. Dr. Turpin has established a new vision for the University of Alberta in For the Public Good, an ambitious plan that will ensure the university’s continued leadership amongst the world’s finest public institutions. During his tenure, Dr. Turpin has stewarded major grants and donations, including the largest gift in U of A history. One of Canada’s most admired and respected post-secondary leaders, Dr. Turpin is past chair of the World University Service of Canada, Vice-Chair of the U15 Executive Heads, and serves as a member of both the Universities Canada Board of Directors and Research Advisory Committee. He is a distinguished scholar and Thomson ISI highly cited researcher, and has earned many honours and distinctions, including fellowship in the Order of Canada and the Royal Society of Canada.

Read his full biography

From the President's Desk