Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Staff Directory

[Listing in alphabetical order]


Chona Aguilar
Acting Administrative and Financial Coordinator

Tel: (780) 492-7404
chona.aguilar@ualberta.ca

Chona manages the day-to-day financial activities of the office and ensures all financial transactions are in compliance with policy and procedure. She is the first point of contact for any payments requiring approval of the Provost.


Lindsay Baranowski
Acting Financial Officer

Tel: (780) 492-8372
lindsay.baranowski@ualberta.ca

Lindsay oversees financial aspects of the academic portfolio including institutional, operating, and endowment funds.


Kally Basra
Information Coordinator

Tel: (780) 492-1893 
kally.basra@ualberta.ca

Kally coordinates all correspondence and communications for the Provost and Deputy Provost, including vetting items requiring their signature and approval. She has oversight of the Provost Office website and provides administrative support to the Special Advisors to the Provost.


Kathleen Brough
Senior Administrative Officer

Tel: (780) 492-6655
kathleen.brough@ualberta.ca

Kathleen provides strategic advice and manages issues for the Provost, Deputy Provost and the senior team. Kathleen is also responsible for coordinating activities at a senior level across the academic portfolio and with other portfolios.


Marilyn Buffalo
Indigenous Cultural Advisor

Tel: (780) 492-6655 
buffalo2@ualberta.ca

Marilyn assists faculties, departments and units in the inclusion and engagement of Indigenous peoples and knowledge, including advising on cultural protocols and providing a connection to Elders and knowledge experts to support University of Alberta events and programs.


Theresa Curry (ON LEAVE)
Financial Officer

Tel: (780) 492-8372
theresa.curry@ualberta.ca

Theresa oversees financial aspects of the academic portfolio including institutional, operating, and endowment funds.


Kelsey Dokis-Jansen
Indigenous Initiatives Manager 

Tel: (780) 492-6304
kljansen@ualberta.ca

Kelsey works with the internal University of Alberta community to advance Indigenous initiatives. She supports and coordinates policy development, Indigenous governance development, and consultation frameworks with the goal of ensuring a comprehensive, respectful and inclusive approach to Indigenous activities.


Edith Finczak
Director, Academic Budget and Planning 

Tel: (780) 492-4957 
edith.finczak@ualberta.ca

Edith provides high level financial advice and guidance to the Office of the Provost and the Faculties. She is a key  liaison with faculties and units on operational issues of academic planning, enrolment and budgeting.


Suzanne French
Programs Coordinator 

Tel: (780) 492-7586
suzanne.french@ualberta.ca

Suzanne provides administrative program support for MOOC oversight and development, as well as resource support for international oversight committees. Suzanne also provides technical support for program and policy development and approval processes.


Amanda Gould
Indigenous Program Lead 

Tel: (780) 974-0257
agould@ualberta.ca 

Amanda supports the Indigenous Cultural Advisory Office in the inclusion and engagement of Indigenous peoples and knowledge, including advising on cultural protocols and is the support lead on Indigenous programs and events.


Rose Huculak
Records Coordinator 

Tel: (780) 492-6830
rose.huculak@ualberta.ca

Rose is responsible for document and records management for the Office of the Provost and also provides general administrative support.


Shelley Klatt
Executive Coordinator 

Tel: (780) 492-3836
shelley.klatt@ualberta.ca

Shelley provides administrative support to the Provost and Deputy Provost, including calendar/schedule management. She is the first point of contact for requests for meetings with either the Provost or Deputy Provost.


Arlene Knudson
Executive Assistant to the Vice-Provosts (Temporary)

Tel: (780) 492-2280
aknudson@ualberta.ca

Arlene provides temporary administrative support and calendar management to the Vice-Provost (Programs), Vice-Provost (Learning Initiatives), and Associate Vice-President (Research) and (Academic).


Logan Mardhani-Bayne
Strategic Initiatives Manager 

Tel: (780) 492-2119
lmardhan@ualberta.ca

Logan coordinates strategic planning for the Office of the Provost and VP (Academic). In collaboration with other institutional portfolios, he takes a lead role in the development of key strategic documents, and guides initiatives to transform long-term institutional goals into action.


Kate Peters
Portfolio Initiatives Manager 

Tel: (780) 492-6709
kate.peters@ualberta.ca

Kate supports the oversight of academic programs including liaising  with the Ministry and the Campus Alberta Quality Council on new academic program proposals. She also coordinates portfolio policy development, provides support for projects and initiatives, and is the FOIPP officer for the office.


Helen Steinke
Officer Manager 

Tel: (780) 492-1503
helen.steinke@ualberta.ca

Helen oversees the functional management of the Provost’s office, including space allocations, office and computing equipment, and building maintenance. She is responsible for human resource administration for the portfolio and ensures coordination of administrative support activities. Helen also provides administrative support to the Senior Administrative Officer.


Cindy Watt
Committees Manager 

Tel: (780) 492-6643
cindy.watt@ualberta.ca

Cindy provides comprehensive support to various high-level administrative committees such as the President’s Executive Committee (PEC-O), Deans’ Council, and Vice-Provosts’ Council (VPC). She also supports  the Centres and Institutes Committee, ensuring annual reporting requirements are met.