Faculty of Education Dean Selection

The University of Alberta has begun the search for the next Dean of the Faculty of Education and a Dean Selection Committee has been established in accordance with GFC regulations. Committee composition is defined in the Faculty Deans Selection Procedure Appendix A: Dean Selection Committees for Individual Faculties.

Faculty of Education - Dean Selection Committee

Steven Dew, Provost and Vice-President (Academic), Chair
Lorne Babiuk, Vice-President (Research)
John Nychka, Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research
George Buck, Faculty of Education
Dip Kapoor, Faculty of Education
Carla Peck, Faculty of Education
Cathy Adams, Faculty of Education
Dinesh Rathi, Faculty of Education
Dwayne Donald, Faculty of Education
Samantha Volk, Undergraduate Student
Amanda Radil, Graduate Student
Grace Jamieson, Support Staff
Sherry Woitte, Sessional Teaching Staff
Yvonne Norton, Continuing Academic Staff
Richard Spelliscy, College of Alberta Psychologists
Dennis Theobald, Alberta Teachers’ Association
Pirkko Markula, General Faculties Council Representative

Consultation and Feedback

The success of a dean selection process relies on a consultative approach, with feedback and input from faculty, staff and students, and key stakeholders of the Faculty. As such, members from the community that are served by the Faculty are invited to share in the opportunity of selecting the Dean. The Selection Committee asks for your advice and opinion on the leadership needs of the Faculty, the priorities, current issues, the future direction of the Faculty and any other key issues.

All feedback is collected on a consultation form, and may be shared with the Selection Committee. Nominations of suitable candidates for the position of Dean are encouraged and individuals who wish to stand as candidates are invited to apply.

Faculty Town Halls will be arranged to introduce faculty, staff, students and stakeholders to the members of the Selection Committee, receive information about the Faculty Dean selection process and learn about how to get involved in this important endeavor. Faculty Forums will be held to present the final candidates to the Faculty and to invite opinions on candidate suitability.

The selection of a dean is vital to the success of the Faculty. The views expressed by members of the Faculty, university and wider community are important to the selection process.

Town Hall

Thursday, August 25, 2016
2-115 Education North
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

There will be an opportunity to raise questions or give comments you may have regarding the dean selection process. All members of the Faculty of Education are encouraged to attend.

Faculty/Candidate Forums

Faculty Forum # 1
Presenter:  Dr. Nancy Arthur 
Date/Time:  Tuesday, February 7, 2017 | 12:30-1:30 pm  
Location:  2-490 Edmonton Clinic Health Academy

Faculty Forum # 2
Presenter:  Dr. Jennifer Tupper 
Date/Time:  Wednesday, February 8, 2017 | 12:30-1:30 pm
Location:  2-490 Edmonton Clinic Health Academy