Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research - Dean Selection

The University of Alberta has begun the search for the next Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research and a Dean Selection Committee has been established in accordance with GFC regulations. Committee composition is defined in the Faculty Deans Selection Procedure Appendix A: Dean Selection Committees for Individual Faculties.

Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research - Dean Selection Committee

Wendy Rodgers, Deputy Provost, Chair
Susan Hamilton, Associate Vice-President (Research),
John Parkins, Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences
Sujata Persad, Medicine and Dentistry
Veronica Smith, Education
Sarah Ficko, Graduate Student Representative
Jane Traynor, Graduate Student Representative

Richard Rachubinski, Chairs’ Council Representative
André Costopoulos, Deans’ Council Representative
Barbara O’Neil, Support Staff Representative
Carrie Smith-Prei, General Faculties Council Representative
Dean Eurich, General Faculties Council Representative
Dana Dragon-Smith, Graduate Program Administrator          Representative

Consultation and Feedback

The success of a dean selection process relies on a consultative approach, with feedback and input from faculty, staff and students, and key stakeholders of the Faculty. As such, members from the community that are served by the Faculty are invited to share in the opportunity of selecting the Dean. The Selection Committee asks for your advice and opinion on the leadership needs of the Faculty, the priorities, current issues, the future direction of the Faculty and any other key issues.

All feedback is collected on a consultation form, and may be shared with the Selection Committee. Nominations of suitable candidates for the position of Dean are encouraged and individuals who wish to stand as candidates are invited to apply.

Faculty Town Halls will be arranged to introduce faculty, staff, students and stakeholders to the members of the Selection Committee, receive information about the Faculty Dean selection process and learn about how to get involved in this important endeavor. Faculty Forums will be held to present the final candidates to the Faculty and to invite opinions on candidate suitability.

The selection of a Dean is vital to the success of the Faculty. The views expressed by members of the Faculty, university and wider community are important to the selection process.

Town Hall

Thursday, December 1, 2016
Council Chambers (2-100 University Hall)
12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

There will be an opportunity to raise questions or give comments regarding the dean selection process. All members of the Faculty are encouraged to attend this event.

Faculty/candidate Forums

Faculty Forum # 1
Presenter:  Dr. Heather Zwicker 
Date/Time:  Wednesday, April 5, 2017 • 11:30-12:30 pm • 
Location:  Council Chambers (University Hall 2-100)

Faculty Forum #2
Presenter:  Dr. André Loiselle
Date/Time:  Thursday, April 6, 2017 • 12:00-1:00 pm • 
Location:  6-060 Engineering Teaching and Learning Complex (ETLC)