Faculty of Arts Dean Selection

All are invited to attend the Faculty of Arts Dean Selection Town Hall to discuss the dean selection process, meet the Committee, and participate in a discussion about the leadership needs of the Faculty of Arts.

Town Hall Date: Friday, October 8, 2021 | Noon – 1:00 p.m.
Zoom link

Interim Dean Patten's term as Dean of the Faculty of Arts ends on June 30, 2022, and as such, the Provost has called for the establishment of a Dean Selection Committee. 

As a first step, the Chair of the Dean Selection Committee, Dr. Steven Dew, is seeking input from the community on the leadership needs, current issues, priorities and future direction of the Faculty of Arts.  Please provide your thoughts on these issues in this form.  Those without a University of Alberta email address (CCID) can provide input to the Provost at provost@uaberta.ca.  

Requests for anonymity from students, support staff, MAPS and APOs, and non-tenured academic staff may be granted. Tenured faculty members are expected to stand by their submissions. Requests for anonymity require that respondents first identify themselves on this form; however, following identification, attribution is removed before the submission is shared with the Dean Selection Committee.  

The Dean Selection Committee schedule is below.

Faculty of Arts - Dean Selection Committee

Steven Dew, Chair 
Provost and Vice-President (Academic) 

Walter Dixon, Vice Chair 
Associate Vice-President (Research and Innovation) 

Joseph Doucet
Dean, College of Social Sciences & Humanities

Ali Shiri
Vice-Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research

Aidan Rowe
Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts 

Eddy Kent
Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts 

Lise Gotell
Professor, Faculty of Arts

Xiaoting Li
Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts

Thomas Spalding
Professor, Faculty of Arts 


Marie-Eve Morin
Chair, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts

Madeline (Maddie) Dempsey
Undergraduate Student 

Kael Kropp
Undergraduate Student 

Devan Prithipaul
Graduate Student 

Andrei Tabirca
International Recruitment & Engagement Specialist, Faculty of Arts 

Bukola Salami
Associate Professor, Faculty of Nursing

Valentina Kozlova
Academic Teaching Staff, Department of Economics

Ev Hamdon
Sr. Advisor, Equity and Human Rights, Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Meeting Schedule 
Date Time Activity Location
October 5, 2021 9:00-Noon 1st Committee Meeting Via Zoom
October 8, 2021 Noon-1:00pm Town Hall Via Zoom
October 21, 2021 1:00-4:00pm 2nd Committee Meeting Via Zoom
November 16, 2021 1:30-4:30pm 3rd Committee Meeting Via Zoom
November 30, 2021 9:00am-Noon 4th Committee Meeting Via Zoom
December 15, 16, 17, 2021 8:00am-4:00pm Interviews Via Zoom
January 10, 11, 12, 2022 8:00am-4:00pm Public Process: Candidate Presentations, Small Group Meeting and Final Interviews TBD
January 25, 2022 1:30-4:30pm Decision Meeting  Via Zoom