About Us

Psychiatry is a department in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry at the University of Alberta. Our department couples basic science with clinical research to promote world-class investigations on issues relevant to mental health. The main office is located on the main floor of the Walter C Mackenzie Health Sciences Centre (WMC). Research groups are located in the Clinical Sciences Building, the Research Transition Facility and the WCM.

The Department currently consists of:

  • 18 full-time academic faculty members

  • 160 clinical faculty members

  • 20 adjunct academic faculty members

  • 50 residents

  • 3 post-doctoral fellows

  • 36 graduate students

  • 8 non-academic staff members

We have an active training program for psychiatry residents, with input from psychiatrists and other mental-health professionals from the University of Alberta Hospital, Grey Nuns Community Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Misericordia Hospital and Alberta Hospital Edmonton. We also offer separate MSc and PhD programs for graduate students (there are also available to psychiatry residents).

The Department also has a diverse group of outstanding scientists who are internationally recognized. These scientists are carrying out some of the leading-edge research in neuropsychiatry, mood and anxiety disorders, and schizophrenia. Some of the areas of expertise include:

  • Neurochemistry

  • Neuropsychopharmacology

  • Psychotherapy

  • Epidemiology

  • Neuro-imaging

  • Molecular biology

  • Translational neuroscience

  • Concurrent disorders

  • Child and adolescent psychiatry