People

Graduate Students

  Anjomshoae, Farzaneh
BS P-319F
780-492-6681
anjomsho@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Elena Nicoladis
Alice Atkin

Atkin, Alice
aliceatkin@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research uses psychophysiology and electrophysiology to investigate decision making and cognitive control.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

  Balasubramanian, Gopika
BS P-545
780-492-5325
gopika@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Lauren Guillette
  Besoi Setzer, Alexandra
BS P-351
780-492-0036
besoi@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Elena Nicoladis
Linzy Bohn Bohn, Linzy
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
linzy@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My program of research explores time disorientation in Alzheimer's disease, and how this in turn impacts social goals, social activity preference, and the processing of emotional information.

Supervisor: Roger Dixon

Andres Camacho Camacho, Andres
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
camacho2@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Individual differences in cognitive abilities in animals and the evolution cognition.

Supervisor: Lauren Guillette

Sucheta Chakravarty Chakravarty, Sucheta
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
sucheta@ualberta.ca

Interests: Reward based learning, application of Reinforcement Learning models in brain and behavioural data, gambling and cognitive control, single trial classification of EEG. 

Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan

Photo Unavailable Drouin, Shannon
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
sdrouin@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Roger Dixon

Tristan Eckersley Eckersley, Tristan
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
teckersl@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: The evolution of cognitive abilities in animals, specifically learning.

Supervisor: Lauren Guillette

Photo Unavailable Elke, Jonah
BS P-241
(780) 492-3834
selke@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Neural correlates of attentional control; The role of mind-wandering in childhood cognitive development; The relationship between mind-wandering and executive control processes in childhood and adulthood.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal, Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Fedor, Brittany
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
bfedor@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Fred Colbourne

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

  Firat, Mustafa
BS P-357
780-492-5645
firat@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Kim Noels
Photo Unavailable Fjellner, Kennedy
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
kfjellne@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Photo Unavailable Gumnur, Vrushali Rao
BS P-319E
(780) 492-7447
gumnur@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Harati Mokhtari, Parastoo
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
haratimo@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Chris Westbury

Hauer, Brandon
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
behauer@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

 

Photo Unavailable Heanoy, Zahan
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
heanoy@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Norman Brown

  Kalisvaart, Anna
BS P-117
780-492-2936
akalisva@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Fred Colbourne
Photo Unavailable Kershaw, Christine
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
kershaw@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: David Rast

Kathryn Kincaid Kincaid, Kathryn
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
kincaid@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: David Rast

Photo Unavailable Kluger, Felicitas
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
kluger@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan

  Kucuktas, Selen
BS P-553
780-492-7889
kucuktas@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Peggy St. Jacques
Connor Lambert Lambert, Connor
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
ctlamber@ualberta.ca

Interests: The evolution and development of cognitive abilities in animals; see my website for more information: https://ctlambert.weebly.com/

Supervisor: Lauren Guillette

Photo Unavailable Leahy, John
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
jleahy@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Photo Unavailable Lei, Xuehui (Kate)
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
xuehui1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Photo Unavailable Leota, Joshua
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
leota@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Nash

Liddle, Lane
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
lliddle@ualberta.ca

Interests: Promoting recovery from stroke. Mechanisms of injury and repair following brain injury. The electrophysiological sequelae of stroke. Using animal models of stroke, my lab aims to reduce death and disability following stroke using an array of behavioural, biochemical, and histological techniques. Human cognition and attention, comparative cognition

Supervisor: Fred Colbourne

Photo Unavailable Ma, Angela
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
acma@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: David Rast

Photo Unavailable Montenegro, Carolina
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
cmontene@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Moukhaiber, Ryan
NA
NA
moukhaib@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan/Anthony Singhal

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

Photo Unavailable Olafson, Danielle
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
dmolafso@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Photo Unavailable Ouyang, Yunzhu
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
youyang@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: David Rast

Juana Park Park, Juana
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
juana@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Supervisor: Christina Gagne

  Perez, Arturo
BS P-117
780-492-2936
aiperez@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Mike Dawson
Photo Unavailable Predy, Larissa
BS P-319E
(780) 492-4774
lpredy@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Prokop, Brittany
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
bprokop@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Fred Colbourne

Photo Unavailable Qi, Yafei
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
yyqi@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Photo Unavailable Richard, Vickie
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
vickie1@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interests center around meaning-making practices and communication across personal differences. I am most keenly interested in the development of conflict through its expression and embodied experience, and am seeking novel conflict resolution strategies.

Supervisor: Cor Baerveldt

Photo Unavailable Robles, Daniel
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
drobles@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Photo Unavailable Runac, Rachel
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
runac@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sheree Kwong See

  Sahu, Prateek
BS P-541
780-492-7872
psahu@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Chris Sturdy
Photo Unavailable Scott, Andy
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
ascott2@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeff Schimel

Erin Scully Scully, Erin
BS P-539
(780) 492-7862
escully@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My interests are looking at the sensory systems of the avian brain. I study both behavior and comparative aspects of neuroscience.

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Service, William
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
wservice@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Sheldon, Sarah
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
ssheldon@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Photo Unavailable Shillabeer, Evan
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
shillabe@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Cor Baerveldt

Photo Unavailable Shokrkon, Anahita
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
shokrkon@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Elena Nicoladis

  Singh, Aakanksha
BS P-357
780-492-5645
as3@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Clay Dickson
Photo Unavailable Stone, Scott
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
sastone@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

  Song, YanFei
BS P-553
780-492-7889
yanfei2@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Dana Hayward
Photo Unavailable Syfers, Lily
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
syfers@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: David Rast

Photo Unavailable Thibeau, Sherilyn
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
thibeau@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Roger Dixon

  Thomas, Jeremy
BS P-117
780-492-2936
jjthomas@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan
Michelle Tomczak Tomczak, Michelle
BS P-218
(780) 492-7804
ehmig@ualberta.ca

Interests: 1) Cognitive skills and assessments in relation to on-road driving performance. In particular, how recreational drugs such as cannabis and cocaine influence cognition during driving. 2) The effect of complementary therapy forms on brain recovery in individuals suffering from concussions and traumatic brain injuries.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

Daphne Vrantsidis Vrantsidis, Daphne
BS P-351
(780) 492-1355
vrantsid@ualberta.ca

Interests: I am interested in how environmental factors - in particular, parenting and poverty - affect the development of children's executive function.

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Ward-Flannagan, Rachel
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
wardflan@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

 

Photo Unavailable Wilkinson, Cassandra
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
cmwilkin@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Fred Colbourne

Photo Unavailable Wispinski, Nathan
BS P-255
(780) 492-5262
nathan3@ualberta.ca

Interests: I am interested in how people make decisions, such as which of two chocolate bars they would prefer. Recently I have been using neuroimaging, computational models, and motion tracking to investigate the interaction between decision making and motor control.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

  Woerle, Tim
BS P-553
780-492-7889
woerle@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Pete Dixon
  Yasuda, Yuto
BS P-123
780-248-1915
yasuda@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Taka Masuda
Ying Shan Doris Zhang Zhang, Ying Shan (Doris)
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
ydz@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Brenna Zatto Zatto, Brenna
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
zatto@ualberta.ca

Interests: The developmental patterns of children’s internalizing problems (depression, anxiety, somatization) and the relation between these problems and behavioral (e.g., emotion regulation) and contextual (e.g., teacher-child relationship quality) factors.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

  Zhang, Jingyi
BS P-359
780-492-1355
jingyi20@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Kim Noels/Yao Zheng
Photo Unavailable Zhang, Xijia
BS P-349
(780) 492-1355
xijia1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels