People

Graduate Students

Abdul Rahman, Aishah
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
siti@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Atkin, Donald
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
datkin@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: The psychophysiology of cognitive control, concerning motor movements.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

Barbosa, Poliana
BS P-351
(780) 492-0036
poliana@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: I am interested in how cognitive and social-emotional abilities relate to the development of language use and understanding in infancy and childhood.

Supervisor : Elena Nicoladis

Nathan Bartlett Bartlett, Nathan
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
nbartlet@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research focuses on genetic contributions to characteristics including aggression, brain lateralization, gender, and levels of fantastical thinking. From a broad perspective, I enjoy investigating human behaviour through multidisciplinary methods (such as physiological correlates) as a way to further substantiate findings.

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Blatter, Jamin
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
jblatter@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeff Schimel

 

Linzy Bohn Bohn, Linzy
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
linzy@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My program of research explores time disorientation in Alzheimer's disease, and how this in turn impacts social goals, social activity preference, and the processing of emotional information.

Supervisor: Sheree Kwong See

Kenda Burke Burke, Kenda
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
kenda.burke@ualberta.ca

Interests:  I am interested in children's social and emotional development. I am particularly interested in the effects that prevention programming, early intervention efforts, and parenting practices have on children's self-regulation skills and on their ability to increase their self-regulation skills.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Kim Campbell Campbell, Kimberley
BS P-537
(780) 4925844
ki6@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: I am interested in understanding the chick-a-dee call of black-capped chickadees (Poecile atricapillus). Specifically, I want to identify which features within the call identify the sex of the caller.

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Katy Chaffee Chaffee, Kathryn
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
kathryn.chaffee@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Cultural influences on academic motivation and foreign language learning, culture and autonomy.

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Sucheta Chakravarty Chakravarty, Sucheta
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
sucheta@ualberta.ca

Interests: Reward based learning, application of Reinforcement Learning models in brain and behavioural data, gambling and cognitive control, single trial classification of EEG. 

Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan

Jaiwen Chen Chen, Jiawen
BS P-319E
(780) 492-7447
jiawen7@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interests center on the positive adaptation and well-being of young adults during the transition to adulthood, focusing on the transition from school to work and the importance of psychosocial and environmental factors.

Supervisor: Nancy Galambos

Photo Unavailable Chen, Yvonne
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
yvonne.chen@ualberta.ca
Profile Page
Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan
Jenna Congdon Congdon, Jenna
BS P-539
(780) 492-7862
jcongdon@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interests focus on learning, language, and memory (i.e., cognition) in animals. Specifically, I am interested in chickadee neurophysiological, behavioural, and vocal responses to predator threat.

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Craciun, Lulia
craciun@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Doug Wylie

Devraj-kizuk, Sayeed
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
sdevrajk@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

 

Photo Unavailable Diniz, Gabriela
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
diniz@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Kim Noels
Photo Unavailable Donoff, Christopher
BS P-255
(780) 492-5262
cdonoff@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

Photo Unavailable Douglas, Shawn
BS P-319F
(780) 492-6681
stdougla@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Don Kuiken
Photo Unavailable

Du, Karen (Yu)
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
du5@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Currently I am working on projects of spatial cognition under supervisions of Dr. Mou and Dr. Spetch. I am interested in how human use different cues in environment to navigate and how this ability originated and developed.

Supervisor: Marcia Spetch, Weimin Mou

Brian Dupuis

Dupuis, Brian
BS P-108
(780) 492-7850
bdupuis@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research concerns foundational issues in the cognitive sciences. I am currently focused on research in synthetic psychology (gaining insight from cognitive modelling), particularly artificial neural network models of probability learning. I am also interested in behaviour-based robotics and embodied cognitive science.

Supervisor: Mike Dawson

Photo Unavailable Elke, Sarah
BS P-241
(780) 492-3834
selke@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Neural correlates of attentional control; The role of mind-wandering in childhood cognitive development; The relationship between mind-wandering and executive control processes in childhood and adulthood.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal, Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Enns, Robyn
BS P-351
(780) 492-0036
rlfaulkn@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Elena Nicoladis

Shichen Fang

Fang, Shichen (Freya)
BS P-351
(780) 492-0036
shichen2@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Trajectories and predictors of change in psychosocial development during the transition to adulthood; Between-persons differences and within-person changes in subjective maturity, as indicated by subjective age; Trajectories of happiness from late adolescence to adulthood, based on the Edmonton Transitions Study.

Supervisor: Nancy Galambos

Photo Unavailable

Farley, James
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
jfarley1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Pete Dixon

Hauer, Brandon
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
behauer@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

 

Photo Unavailable Hoang, John
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
jh7@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interest is the examination of the neurological representation of concepts and ideas. Using chickadees I would like to examine the differences between the neural activity of a concept and its isolated elements and components. For example the chickadee call is comprised of multiple notes that convey a message to other chickadees, if this order is rearranged the meaning is presumably changed. Then the difference in neurological activity could be attributed to the higher level processing of the concept and not the just stimulation caused by the auditory stimulus.

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Naheed Hosan Hosan, Naheed
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
hosan@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Social-Developmental Psychology: The influence of children’s and adolescent’s school-based social interactions (e.g., student-teacher relationships, friendships, peer-networks) on changes in their mental health (e.g., symptoms of depression and anxiety) and academic adjustment (e.g., school engagement, academic achievement) over time, as well as the contributions of socio-cultural components (e.g., gender, race/ethnicity, SES) to these associations. School-Based Prevention Programming: Programs targeted at minimizing problematic peer relationships (e.g., bullying) and emotional maladjustment (e.g., internalizing problems) to facilitate positive developmental trajectories.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Photo Unavailable Hui, Dorothea
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
hui1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Saira John John, Saira
BS P-319E
(780) 492-7447
saira1@ualberta.ca

Interests: How peer relationships change in early childhood and how psychopathology and cultural factors might contribute to these changes among ethnically diverse children.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Kato, Kenichi
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
kkato1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan

Photo Unavailable Kuziek, Jonathan
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
kuziek@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Photo Unavailable Leahy, John
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
jleahy@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Photo Unavailable Lee, Hajin
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
hajin@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Taka Masuda

Photo Unavailable Lei, Xuehui (Kate)
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
xuehui1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Long, Rebecca
BS P-442
rmlong@ualberta.ca


Supervisor: Doug Wylie

 

Photo Unavailable Lou, Man-Tou
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
mantou@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Photo Unavailable Meghji, Zemina
zemina@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Cody Nadeau Nadeau, Colby
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
cnadeau@ualberta.ca

Interests: My primary research interests are understanding mechanisms of injury after intracerebral hemorrhage and evaluating therapies, both rehabilitative and pharmacological, to promote behavioral recovery and reduce cell death.

Supervisor: Fred Colbourne

Juana Park Park, Juana
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
juana@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Supervisor: Christina Gagne

Jeffrey Pisklak Pisklak, Jeffrey
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
pisklak@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Supervisor: Marcia Spetch

Photo Unavailable Richard, Vickie
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
vickie1@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interests center around meaning-making practices and communication across personal differences. I am most keenly interested in the development of conflict through its expression and embodied experience, and am seeking novel conflict resolution strategies.

Supervisor: Cor Baerveldt

Photo Unavailable Rimstad, Lisa
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
rimstad@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Photo Unavailable Robinson, Victoria
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
vr2@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Tom Spalding / Christina Gagne

Photo Unavailable Runac, Elyse
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
runac@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sheree Kwong See

Photo Unavailable Scanlon, Joanna
BS P-255
(780) 492-5262
jscanlon@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson / Anthony Singhal

Photo Unavailable Scott, Andy
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
ascott2@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeff Schimel

Photo Unavailable Scully, Erin
BS P-539
(780) 492-7862
escully@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My interests are looking at the sensory systems of the avian brain. I study both behavior and comparative aspects of neuroscience.

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Sharp, Michael
BS P-347
(780) 492-5616
msharp1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeff Schimel

Photo Unavailable Sheldon, Sarah
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
ssheldon@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Amelia Shi Shi, Amelia (Liangzi)
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
liangzi@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Autobiographical memory, metamemory, and memory of real-world events.

Supervisor: Norman Brown

Photo Unavailable Shillabeer, Evan
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
shillabe@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Cor Baerveldt

Photo Unavailable Thibeau, Sherilyn
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
thibeau@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Roger Dixon

Photo Unavailable Vrantsidis, Daphne
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
vrantsid@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Wang, Lin
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
lwang16@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Ward-Flannagan, Rachel
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
WardFlan@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

 

Photo Unavailable Wispinski, Nathan
BS P-255
(780) 492-5262
nathan3@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

Photo Unavailable Yong, Joshua
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
jjyong@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Marcia Spetch

Brenna Zatto Zatto, Brenna
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
zatto@ualberta.ca

Interests: I am interested in studying young children with internalizing problems and the influences that support a decrease in internalizing problems over time. Furthermore, I am interested in the influence of teacher-child relationship quality on internalizing problems in young children.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Lei Zhang Zhang, Lei
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
lz14@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: To reach to a target in a space, individuals need to successfully estimate where they are (position) and where they are facing (heading) in the environment. My interest is to study how people use different cues (e.g., body sense or landmarks) to estimate their position and heading during walking and driving.

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Photo Unavailable Zhou, Ruojing
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
ruojing@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Supervisor: Weimin Mou