People

Graduate Students

Abdul Rahman, Aishah
BS P-241
(780) 492-3834
siti@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

Atkin, Donald
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
datkin@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: The psychophysiology of cognitive control, concerning motor movements.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

Barbosa, Poliana
BS P-351
(780) 492-0036
poliana@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: I am interested in how cognitive and social-emotional abilities relate to the development of language use and understanding in infancy and childhood.

Supervisor : Elena Nicoladis

Nathan Bartlett Bartlett, Nathan
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
nbartlet@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research focuses on genetic contributions to characteristics including aggression, brain lateralization, gender, and levels of fantastical thinking. From a broad perspective, I enjoy investigating human behaviour through multidisciplinary methods (such as physiological correlates) as a way to further substantiate findings.

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Blatter, Jamin
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
jblatter@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeff Schimel

 

Linzy Bohn Bohn, Linzy
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
linzy@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My program of research explores time disorientation in Alzheimer's disease, and how this in turn impacts social goals, social activity preference, and the processing of emotional information.

Supervisor: Sheree Kwong See

Kenda Burke Burke, Kenda
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
kenda.burke@ualberta.ca

Interests:  I am interested in how children's behaviour regulation changes across preschool and kindergarten and how children's positive and negative peer relations may relate to these changes.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Kim Campbell Campbell, Kimberley
BS P-537
(780) 4925844
ki6@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: I am interested in understanding the chick-a-dee call of black-capped chickadees (Poecile atricapillus). Specifically, I want to identify which features within the call identify the sex of the caller.

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Katy Chaffee Chaffee, Kathryn
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
kathryn.chaffee@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Cultural influences on academic motivation and foreign language learning, culture and autonomy.

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Sucheta Chakravarty Chakravarty, Sucheta
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
sucheta@ualberta.ca

Interests: Reward based learning, application of Reinforcement Learning models in brain and behavioural data, gambling and cognitive control, single trial classification of EEG. 

Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan

Jaiwen Chen Chen, Jiawen
BS P-319E
(780) 492-7447
jiawen7@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interests center on the positive adaptation and well-being of young adults during the transition to adulthood, focusing on the transition from school to work and the importance of psychosocial and environmental factors.

Supervisor: Nancy Galambos

Jenna Congdon Congdon, Jenna
BS P-539
(780) 492-7862
jcongdon@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interests focus on learning, language, and memory (i.e., cognition) in animals. Specifically, I am interested in chickadee neurophysiological, behavioural, and vocal responses to predator threat.

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Craciun, Iulia
BS P-442
craciun@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Doug Wylie

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

Devraj-kizuk, Sayeed
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
sdevrajk@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

 

Photo Unavailable Diniz, Gabriela
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
diniz@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Kim Noels
Photo Unavailable Donoff, Christopher
BS P-255
(780) 492-5262
cdonoff@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

Photo Unavailable Douglas, Shawn
BS P-319F
(780) 492-6681
stdougla@ualberta.ca
Supervisor: Don Kuiken
Photo Unavailable Drouin, Shannon
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
sdrouin@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Roger Dixon

Photo Unavailable

Du, Karen (Yu)
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
du5@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Currently I am working on projects of spatial cognition under supervisions of Dr. Mou and Dr. Spetch. I am interested in how human use different cues in environment to navigate and how this ability originated and developed.

Supervisor: Marcia Spetch, Weimin Mou

Brian Dupuis

Dupuis, Brian
BS P-108
(780) 492-7850
bdupuis@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research concerns foundational issues in the cognitive sciences. I am currently focused on research in synthetic psychology (gaining insight from cognitive modelling), particularly artificial neural network models of probability learning. I am also interested in behaviour-based robotics and embodied cognitive science.

Supervisor: Mike Dawson

Photo Unavailable Elke, Sarah
BS P-241
(780) 492-3834
selke@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Neural correlates of attentional control; The role of mind-wandering in childhood cognitive development; The relationship between mind-wandering and executive control processes in childhood and adulthood.

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal, Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Enns, Robyn
BS P-351
(780) 492-0036
rlfaulkn@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Elena Nicoladis

Shichen Fang

Fang, Shichen (Freya)
BS P-351
(780) 492-0036
shichen2@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Trajectories and predictors of change in psychosocial development during the transition to adulthood; Between-persons differences and within-person changes in subjective maturity, as indicated by subjective age; Trajectories of happiness from late adolescence to adulthood, based on the Edmonton Transitions Study.

Supervisor: Nancy Galambos

Photo Unavailable

Farley, James
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
jfarley1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Pete Dixon

Photo Unavailable Fedor, Brittany
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
bfedor@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Fred Colbourne

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

Photo Unavailable Fjellner, Kennedy
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
kfjellne@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Hauer, Brandon
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
behauer@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

 

Photo Unavailable Hoang, John
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
jh7@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My work looks at the neurological, genetic, hormonal, and ecological factors in the determination of sex typical behavioural haracteristics. My work revolves around the attempt to identify and manipulate the organizational and/or activational hormone levels in an ecologically and evolutionarily relevant manner to identify the causal mechanisms of natural phenotypic variations in behaviour. I am particularly interested in the role of the nonapeptides, arginine vasotocin and isotocin, on the social behaviour of the African cichlid Pelvicachromis pulcher. Arginine vasotocin and isotocin are the teleost evolutionary homologs of the mammalian vasopression and oxytocin. Both teleost nonapeptides and their receptors have a highly conserved molecular structure across phylogenetic taxa, suggesting both nonapeptides play a crucial role in the survival of the individual. Numerous studies further suggest that these nonapeptides influence the individual’s ability to interact with conspecifics in a variety of social situations including: reproduction, territorial defence, and recognition of social hierarchies.

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Photo Unavailable Hope, Brittany
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
bhope@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

Naheed Hosan Hosan, Naheed
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
hosan@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Social-Developmental Psychology: The influence of children’s and adolescent’s school-based social interactions (e.g., student-teacher relationships, friendships, peer-networks) on changes in their mental health (e.g., symptoms of depression and anxiety) and academic adjustment (e.g., school engagement, academic achievement) over time, as well as the contributions of socio-cultural components (e.g., gender, race/ethnicity, SES) to these associations. School-Based Prevention Programming: Programs targeted at minimizing problematic peer relationships (e.g., bullying) and emotional maladjustment (e.g., internalizing problems) to facilitate positive developmental trajectories.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Photo Unavailable Hui, Dorothea
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
hui1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Photo Unavailable Irvine, Taylor
BS P-117
(780) 492-2936
ti@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Peter Hurd

Saira John John, Saira
BS P-319E
(780) 492-7447
saira1@ualberta.ca

Interests: How peer relationships change in early childhood and how contextual factors (e.g., classroom environments, family socialization practices) might contribute to these changes among ethnically diverse children.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Kato, Kenichi
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
kkato1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeremy Caplan

Photo Unavailable Kershaw, Christine
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
kershaw@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: David Rast

Photo Unavailable Kuziek, Jonathan
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
kuziek@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Photo Unavailable Leahy, John
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
jleahy@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Photo Unavailable Lee, Hajin
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
hajin@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Taka Masuda

Photo Unavailable Lei, Xuehui (Kate)
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
xuehui1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Long, Rebecca
BS P-442
rmlong@ualberta.ca


Supervisor: Doug Wylie

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

 

Photo Unavailable Lou, Man-Tou
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
mantou@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Photo Unavailable

Meghji, Zemina
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
zemina@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

Photo Unavailable Montenegro, Carolina
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
cmontene@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Olafson, Danielle
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
dmolafso@ualberta.ca

Supervisor:Kyle Mathewson

Photo Unavailable Ouyang, Yunzhu
BS P-339
(780) 492-5616
youyang@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: David Rast

Juana Park Park, Juana
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
juana@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Supervisor: Christina Gagne

Jeffrey Pisklak Pisklak, Jeffrey
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
pisklak@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Supervisor: Marcia Spetch

Photo Unavailable Predy, Larissa
BS P-319E
(780) 492-4774
lpredy@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Prokop, Brittany
BS P-537
(780) 492-5844
bprokop@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Fred Colbourne

Photo Unavailable Richard, Vickie
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
vickie1@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My research interests center around meaning-making practices and communication across personal differences. I am most keenly interested in the development of conflict through its expression and embodied experience, and am seeking novel conflict resolution strategies.

Supervisor: Cor Baerveldt

Photo Unavailable Rimstad, Lisa
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
rimstad@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Photo Unavailable Robinson, Victoria
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
vr2@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Tom Spalding / Christina Gagne

Photo Unavailable Robles, Daniel
BS P-531
(780) 492-5361
drobles@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Photo Unavailable Runac, Rachel
BS P-533
(780) 492-5843
runac@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sheree Kwong See

Photo Unavailable Scanlon, Joanna
BS P-255
(780) 492-5262
jscanlon@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson / Anthony Singhal

Photo Unavailable Scott, Andy
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
ascott2@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeff Schimel

Photo Unavailable Scully, Erin
BS P-539
(780) 492-7862
escully@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: My interests are looking at the sensory systems of the avian brain. I study both behavior and comparative aspects of neuroscience.

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Service, William
BS P-541
(780) 492-7872
wservice@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Chris Sturdy

Photo Unavailable Sharp, Michael
BS P-347
(780) 492-5616
msharp1@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Jeff Schimel

Photo Unavailable Sheldon, Sarah
BS P-549
(780) 492-7886
ssheldon@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kyle Mathewson

Amelia Shi Shi, Amelia (Liangzi)
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
liangzi@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: Autobiographical memory, metamemory, and memory of real-world events.

Supervisor: Norman Brown

Photo Unavailable Shillabeer, Evan
BS P-347
(780) 492-0136
shillabe@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Cor Baerveldt

Photo Unavailable Stone, Scott
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
sastone@ualberta.ca

Supervisor:Anthony Singhal

Photo Unavailable Thibeau, Sherilyn
BS P-357
(780) 492-5645
thibeau@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Roger Dixon

Photo Unavailable Vrantsidis, Daphne
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
vrantsid@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Sandra Wiebe

Photo Unavailable Wang, Lin
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
lwang16@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Ward-Flannagan, Rachel
BS P-443
(780) 492-5260
wardflan@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Clayton Dickson

Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

 

Photo Unavailable Wispinski, Nathan
BS P-255
(780) 492-5262
nathan3@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Anthony Singhal

Photo Unavailable Yong, Joshua
BS P-553
(780) 492-7889
jjyong@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Marcia Spetch

Photo Unavailable Zhang, Ying (Doris)
BS P-359
(780) 492-1355
ydz@ualberta.ca

Supervisor: Kim Noels

Brenna Zatto Zatto, Brenna
BS P-319G
(780) 492-0972
zatto@ualberta.ca

Interests: I am interested in studying how children's internalizing problems (depression, anxiety, somatization) change across preschool and kindergarten as well as how children's internalizing problems co-vary with teacher-child relationship quality.

Supervisor: Wendy Hoglund

Lei Zhang Zhang, Lei
BS P-545
(780) 492-5325
lz14@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Interests: To reach to a target in a space, individuals need to successfully estimate where they are (position) and where they are facing (heading) in the environment. My interest is to study how people use different cues (e.g., body sense or landmarks) to estimate their position and heading during walking and driving.

Supervisor: Weimin Mou

Photo Unavailable Zhou, Ruojing
BS P-547
(780) 492-5846
ruojing@ualberta.ca
Profile Page

Supervisor: Weimin Mou