Past deans

Kue Young, CM, MD, FRCPC, DPhil, FCAHS
Dean | August 2013 - June 2018

A graduate of McGill University, the University of Toronto and the University of Oxford, Kue Young came to the University of Alberta from the University of Toronto where he was TransCanada Chair in Aboriginal Health. He also served as head of the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. Prior to his academic career, he worked as a primary care physician and public health administrator in Canada and Tanzania. His awards include Senior Investigator of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and Member of the Order of Canada.

Lory Laing, PhD
Acting Dean | May - June 2011; Interim Dean | July 2011 - July 2013

Having joined the University of Alberta as assistant professor in 1976, Lory Laing served as professor and associate dean (education) prior to being appointed acting dean of the School of Public Health. As a social epidemiologist, her research focused on vulnerable populations in Canada and globally, including Uganda, Mongolia and Aboriginal communities in Canada. She received Health Canada's Deputy Minister Award of Distinction in Innovation and Creativity in 2009.

Sylvie Stachenko, MD, MSc, FCFP
Dean | January 2009 - May 2011

Prior to serving as dean, Sylvie Stachenko was deputy chief public health officer of Canada for the Public Health Agency of Canada and director of the World Health Organization's (WHO) Collaborating Centre on Chronic Disease Policy. She brought to the position strong connections to national and international public health networks, vast experience in public health policy development, and a depth of knowledge in chronic disease prevention.

Roger Palmer, PhD
Interim Dean | March 2006 - December 2008

A graduate of the University of London, Cambridge University and the University of Alberta, Roger Palmer became interim dean of the School of Public Health upon its inception by the University of Alberta. Previously, he had served as deputy minister in three departments of the Government of Alberta. His awards include the IPAC 2004 Lieutenant Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Administration, the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal and the Alberta Centennial Medal.