Professional Development

Program Staff and Speakers

Program Staff

  • Don Philippon, program director
  • Erin Hamilton, continuing education associate

Program Mentors

  • Aslam Bhatti, former assistant deputy minister, Alberta Health; executive-in-residence, School of Public Health
  • Chris Eagle, former CEO Alberta Health Services; adjunct professor, School of Public Health
  • Dev Menon, professor of health policy and management, School of Public Health
  • Stephanie Montesanti, assistant professor, School of Public Health
  • Don Philippon, former deputy minister, Alberta Health; professor emeritus, School of Public Health; founding co-chair, Canadian Health Leadership Network; former vice-president, Capital Health Authority, former executive director, Health Sciences Council, University of Alberta 
  • Tania Stafinski, director, Health Technology Policy Unit, School of Public Health

Speakers (2017-18)

Former Political Leaders

  • Janet Davidson, former deputy minister, Alberta Health 
  • Dave Hancock, former minister of health, Alberta
  • John Nilson, former minister of health, Saskatchewan
  • Roy Romanow, former premier of Saskatchewan; former chair, Commission on the Future of Health Care in Canada

Health System Leaders

  • Lord Nigel Crisp, Independent member of the House of Lords; co-chair All Party Parliamentary Group on Global Health; former permanent secretary of the UK Department of Health; former chief executive of the English National Health Service
  • Sarah Hoffman, minister of health, Alberta 
  • Bill Tholl, CEO, HealthcareCAN

Health System Research Leaders

  • Ross Baker, professor and program director, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto
  • Ivy Bourgeault, chair in Gender, Work and Health Human Resources, Canadian Institutes of Health Research; professor, Tefler School of Management, University of Ottawa
  • Graham Dickson, professor emeritus and founding director, Centre for Health Leadership and Research, Royal Roads University
  • Sara Kreindler, Manitoba research chair, Health System Innovation, Department of Community Health Sciences, University of Manitoba
  • Gregory Marchildon, former deputy minister to the Premier of Saskatchewan; former executive director, Commission on the Future of Health Care in Canada; professor and Ontario research chair, Health Policy and System Design, Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto