Research Excellence

The School of Public Health has an exceptional group of faculty members from various disciplines. Together, they are committed to advancing new knowledge to promote, protect and improve the health of people.

Our faculty members are recognized provincially and nationally for outstanding scholarship in public health.

  • McCalla Professors

    The McCalla Professorship is named after the first dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research. A professor receiving a McCalla Professorship is to uphold the values of the University of Alberta. McCalla Professors are those who value excellence in teaching, acknowledge the importance of students, conduct themselves in an ethical manner, are collaborative, open to change, take pride in history and traditions and are committed to integrating their research and teaching.

    •  Susan Chatwood, 2018
    •  Tania Bubela, 2014
  • Killam Professors

    Killam Annual Professorships are awarded to outstanding academics at the University of Alberta in recognition of their distinguished scholarship. The award is based on scholarly activities including teaching, research, publications, creative activities, presented papers, supervision of graduate students, courses taught and service to the community beyond the University in activities related to University responsibilities.

    • Candace Nykiforuk, 2018
    • Jeff Johnson, 2010

  • Centennial Professors

    The title of Centennial Professor is among the most prestigious of awards at the University of Alberta and is bestowed on members of the academy who have achieved outstanding distinction in their area of research and scholarship, teaching and who have earned favourable regard from the community.

    •  Jeff Johnson, 2012

  • Scholar and Investigator Awards

    Health Scholar

    The Health Scholar award is given by Alberta Innovates - Health Solutions (formerly the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research) to investigators who have recently completed their postdoctoral research training, and are currently seeking their first faculty-level appointments, or who are completing their term as a Population Heath Investigator or a Clinical Investigator.

    • Paul Veugelers, 2007-2014
    Cam Wild, 2006-2013
    • Linda Carroll, 2003-2008
    Kim Raine, 2004-2004

    Senior Health Scholar

    The Health Senior Scholar award is given by Alberta Innovates - Health Solutions (formerly the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research) to scholars who have excellent track records of independent research. They are more senior than Scholars and have usually been previously supported via salary support awards.

    • Jeff Johnson, 2009-2016
    • Linda Carroll, 2008-2015
    • Timothy Caulfield, 2007-2014
    Yutaka Yasui, 2006-2013
    Kim Raine, 2005-2010

    Population Health Investigator

    The Population Health Investigator award is given by Alberta Innovates-Health Solutions (formerly the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research) to independent investigators in the early stages of their careers in health research to commit the majority of their time (at least 75%) to research.

    • Zubia Mumtaz, 2012-2017
    • Dean Eurich, 2008-2015
    • Cindy Jardine, 2002-2009
    • Cam Wild, 2000-2006

    New Investigator

    The Canadian Institutes of Health Research New Investigator award is designed to provide outstanding new investigators with the opportunity to develop and demonstrate their independence in initiating and conducting health research.

    Kate Storey, 2017-2020
    • Dean Eurich, 2009-2014 
    • Paul Veugelers, 2000-2005
    • Cam Wild, 2000-2005

  • Translational Chairs

    Alberta Innovates - Health Solutions funds the Translational Health Chairs Program. Funds are used to recruit leading researchers to Alberta. Focusing on priority research and innovation areas, these individuals translate research into real world solutions, moving what we know into what we do.

    •  Nicholas Ashbolt, 2014-2020

  • Fulbright Awards

    Excellence in scholarship, diversity, and community service are hallmarks of the Fulbright Program. The Canada-U.S. Fulbright Program strengthens binational collaborative research and promotes thoughtful public debate on topics that reflect the broad range of contemporary issues relevant to Canada, the United States, and the relationship between the two countries.

    •  Cindy Jardine, 2013-2014

  • Research Chairs

    Applied Public Health Chairs

    The Canadian Institutes of Health Research-Institute of Population and Public Health in partnership with the Public Health Agency of Canada, the Centre de recherche en prévention de l'obésité, Fonds de la recherche en santé du Québec, the Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services, and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada support the Applied Public Health Chairs.

    The objectives of this initiative include supporting high quality and focused programs of policy and program intervention research of national relevance to public health, and to foster linkages to support the timely and effective application of research into policies, programs and practice.

    Candace Nykiforuk, 2014-2019
    Kim Raine, 2008-2013

    Canada Research Chairs

    The Canada Research Chairs Program invests approximately $265 million a year to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.

    Sherilee Harper, CRC in Climate Change and Health, 2018-2023
    Roman Pabayo, CRC in Social and Health Inequities Throughout the Lifespan, 2018-2023
    • Dean Eurich, CRC in Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, 2014-2019
    • Paul Veugelers, CRC in Population Health, 2006-2011, renewed 2011-2015
    • Yutaka Yasui, CRC in Biostatistics, 2005-2010, renewed 2010-2015
    • Timothy Caulfield, CRC in Health Law and Policy, 2002-2009, renewed 2009-2016, renewed 2016-
    • Jeff Johnson, CRC, 2007-2012