Student Life

School of Public Health Students' Association

The School of Public Health Students’ Association (SPHSA) is a student run organization that serves as an academic and social support system for students. We serve as a liaison between students and administration of the School.

We are here to ensure that you have the best experience possible as a student.


What do we do?

The objectives of SPHSA are:

  • to provide guidance and advocate on behalf of all students, including campus and distance students, and all specialty areas within the School of Public Health graduate programs.
  • to provide opportunities for, and inform School of Public Health students of, intellectual, cultural, social and recreational activities.
  • to ensure that School of Public Health graduate students are represented in the School of Public Health, the Graduate Students Association and the broader University of Alberta committees.
  • to increase awareness of public health principles and practice, public health research, and graduate education in public health.
  • to engage in and encourage public health initiatives, both local and global, on campus and in the community.

There are many opportunities for you to shape your experience in the School through SPHSA, so don’t hesitate to get involved.

Elected Positions (2017)

Name 

Email 
Executive     

Kirill Lissovskiy  
President
lissovsk@ualberta.ca

Heather Nixdorff
Vice President
hnixdorf@ualberta.ca

Rebecca Foley 
Communications Officer
rfoley@ualberta.ca

Wesley Vuong
Financial Officer
wvuong@ualberta.ca

Sateen Werner 
Social Coordinator
werner@ualberta.ca

Daniel O'Brien 
Social Coordinator
dcobrien@ualberta.ca

Kevin Lien 
Internal Relations

lien1@ualberta.ca

Tahmid Kashem 
External Relations
kashem@ualberta.ca

Directors at Large 

Kara Loewen
Epidemiology Director at Large

oloewen@ualberta.ca

Marie Sereneo
Occupational and Environmental Health Director at Large
sereneo@ualberta.ca

Natasha Wilson 
Health Policy and Management Director at Large
nlwilson@ualberta.ca

Desiree Gregory
Global Health Director at Large

dg@ualberta.ca

Juanita Gnanapragasam
Health Promotion Director at Large
gnanapra@ualberta.ca

Trenton Smith
Applied Biostatistics Director at Large
trs@ualberta.ca

Mackenzie Moir
MSc Director at Large
moir@ualberta.ca

Alexa Ferdinands
Phd Director at Large
aferdina@ualberta.ca