MSc in Rehabilitation Science

MScRS Supervisors and Research Areas

Kim Adams, PhD, Professor
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Focus: Children's development of cognitive, linguistic, social and motor skills; assistive technology development.
Email: kim.adams@ualberta.ca

David Bennett, PhD, Professor
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine and Centre for Neuroscience
Research Focus: Neurophysiology of the spinal cord after injury (motoneuron properties, spasticity and recovery of motor function).
Email: bennettd@ualberta.ca

Lauren Beaupre, PhD, Professor

Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Musculoskeletal patient populations: elderly patients with hip fracture; total joint arthroplasty; trauma.
Email: lauren.beaupre@ualberta.ca

Carol Boliek, PhD, Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Reserach Focus: Developmental aspects of speech motor control in healthy infants and young children and infants and children with neuromotor disorders.
Email: carol.boliek@ualberta.ca

Geoffrey Bostick, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Reserach Focus: The interaction between measures of cognitive factors (e.g. beliefs), distress, and pain hypersensitivity in determining outcomes in complex musculoskeletal conditions such as low back pain and whiplash associated disorders.
Email: geoff.bostick@ualberta.ca

Suzette Bremault-Phillips, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Mental health, spirituality and health, resiliency, neuroplasticity, community health service delivery (including the role of technology), geriatrics, and inter-professional education and research.
Email: suzette.phillips@ualberta.ca

Cary Brown, PhD, Associate Professor

Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Complex adaptive systems theory, chronic pain, meaning construction in chronic illness, cross-cultural service delivery, scar management & computer-assisted learning.
Email: cary.brown@ualberta.ca

Melanie Campbell, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: The role of auditory feedback in speech and voice (including resonance) production; and developmental aspects of speech production in hearing, hard-of-hearing, and deaf children who use hearing aids/cochlear implants.
Email: melanie.campbell@ualberta.ca

Monique Charest, PhD, Assistant Professor

Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Language development and disorders; language assessment; children’s language processing.
Email: mcharest@ualberta.ca

Shu-Ping Chen, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Social inclusion for individuals with serious mental illnesses, stigma and disability, recovery, substance misuse, campus mental health.
Email: shuping2@ualberta.ca

Judy Chepeha, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Shoulder instability; sport injury; EMG biofeedback.
Email: judy.chepeha@ualberta.ca

Stuart Cleary, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Adult neurogenic swallowing disorders; service delivery issues in geriatric rehabilitation.
Email: stuart.cleary@ualberta.ca

Michele Crites Battie, PhD, Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Low back pain and spinal disorders – etiology, assessment, and treatment (epidemiology and clinical trials).
Email: mc.battie@ualberta.ca

Jacqueline Cummine, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Examining the behaviour, functional and structural pathways of basic language processing.
Email: jacqueline.cummine@ualberta.ca

Shaniff Esmail, PhD, Associate Chair
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Sexuality; couple relationship; disability; physical assessment. 
Email: shaniff.esmail@ualberta.ca

Martin Ferguson-Pell, PhD, Professor
Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Focus: Biomedical engineering; neurosciences. 
Email: martin.ferguson-pell@ualberta.ca

Priscilla Ferrazzi, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Disability, rehabilitation and the law; mental health rehabilitation and therapeutic jurisprudence; indigenous cultural conceptions of mental health and rehabilitation.
Email: ferrazzi@ualberta.ca

Mary Forhan, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Bariatric rehabilitation with a goal to develop the capacity to provide evidence-based rehabilitation for patients with multiple chronic health conditions including obesity and to improve access to health care by reducing weight bias and discrimination. 
Email: forhan@ualberta.ca

Karim Fouad, PhD, Professor

Department of Physical Therapy and Centre for Neuroscience
Research Focus: Promotion of functional recovery after spinal cord injuries by increasing the regenerative and plastic capabilities of the central nervous system.
Email: karim.fouad@ualberta.ca

Douglas Gross, PhD, Professor and Interim Chair
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Assessment and management of common musculoskeletal disorders; prevention of work-related disability; prognosis; functional assessment.
Email: doug.gross@ualberta.ca

Bob Haennel, PhD, Professor and Interim Dean

Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Focus: Role of physical activity in the management of chronic diseases.
Email: bob.haennel@ualberta.ca

Bill Hodgetts, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Bone anchored hearing aids; noise exposure from MP3 Players.
Email: bill.hodgetts@ualberta.ca

Sandra Hodgetts, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Collaborative, interdisciplinary research on interventions, supports and services that improve the health and participation of individuals with autism and their families.
Email: sandra.hodgetts@ualberta.ca

Tammy Hopper, PhD, Professor, Vice Dean Graduate Studies and Research
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders/Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
Research Focus: Cognition and language in normal aging, dementia, and aphasia.
Email: tammy.hopper@ualberta.ca

Allyson Jones, PhD, Associate Professor

Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Patient health outcomes and health-related quality of life in geriatric patient populations; total joint arthroplasties; spinal stenosis; hip fracture; (epidemiology and clinical trials).
Email: allyson.jones@ualberta.ca

Gregory Kawchuk, PhD, Professor

Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Developing experimental methodologies to discern the relation between spinal mechanics, pain and potential solutions.
Email: gregory.kawchuk@ualberta.ca

Esther Kim, PhD, Assistant Professor

Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Nature and treatment of written language disorders in aphasia; cognitive and linguistic aspects of communication in normal aging and aphasia.
Email: esther.kim@ualberta.ca

Ada Leung, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Cognitive rehabilitation.
Email: ada.leung@ualberta.ca

Lili Liu, PhD, Professor and Chair
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Disorders of aging – perception and cognition; telehealth; outcome measures in rehabilitation; design for aging.
Email: lili.liu@ualberta.ca

Patricia Manns, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Health promotion strategies (ie physical activity, education) to promote optimal health and functional ability in adults with neurological disability.
Email: trish.manns@ualberta.ca

David McConnell, PhD, Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Parenting with developmental disability; family care for children & young people with disabilities.
Email: david.mcconnell@ualberta.ca

Margaret McNeely, PhD, Assistant Professor

Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Cancer rehabilitation and exercise.
Email: margie.mcneely@ualberta.ca

John Misiaszek, PhD, Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Neurophysiology of motor control; neural control of locomotion and balance; feedback regulation of locomotion.
Email: john.misiaszek@ualberta.ca

Eric Parent, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Assessment of measurement properties of questionnaires and performance measures; development of prediction rules to identify responders to physical therapy treatments; assessing the mechanisms of action of physical therapy interventions using quantitative measures from MR images; low back pain and scoliosis.
Email: eric.parent@ualberta.ca

Teresa Paslawski, PhD, Associate Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Speech, language and cognition in adults with neurological disorders; clinical education and interprofessional collaboration.
Email: teresa.paslawski@ualberta.ca

Shanon Phelan, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Understanding and improving participation, inclusion, and social justice for children with disabilities and their families; health professional ethics, disability studies, constructions of childhood, disability and identity.
Email: shanon.phelan@ualberta.ca

Karen Pollock, PhD, Professor and Chair

Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Vowel errors in children with phonological disorders; speech-language acquisition in children adopted from China; phonological characteristics of African American Vernacular English.
Email: karen.pollock@ualberta.ca

Jana Rieger, PhD, Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Normal and disordered aspects of voice and resonance; disordered aspects of speech, chewing and swallowing secondary to head and neck cancer; and automatic speech recognition.
Email: jana.rieger@ualberta.ca

Mary Roduta Roberts, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Development of clinical reasoning and professional expertise over time; feedback and self-regulated learning; integration of technology with instruction, assessment, and curriculum design; and technology use in practice.
Email: mroberts@ualberta.ca

Elizabeth Taylor, PhD, Associate Professor

Department of Occupational Therapy
Research Focus: Psychosocial functioning; community-based rehabilitation.
Email: liz.taylor@ualberta.ca

Joanne Volden, PhD, Professor
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Research Focus: Social cognition and communication in autism and mental retardation; pragmatic language development.
Email: joanne.volden@ualberta.ca

Jackie Whittaker, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Youth sport injury prevention (musculoskeletal); consequences of youth sport injuries (musculoskeletal) as it relates to the origins of chronic musculoskeletal diseases (e.g., osteoarthritis), obesity and reduced physical activity; interventions for preventing and/or delaying the onset of osteoarthritis after joint injury; interventions for non-operative care of osteoarthritis.
Email: jwhittak@ualberta.ca

Lesley Wiart, PhD, Assistant Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Evaluation of effectiveness of physical therapy interventions for children with cerebral palsy and pediatric rehabilitation service delivery for children with neuromotor disabilities.
Email:  lwiart@ualberta.ca 

Linda Woodhouse, PhD, Associate Professor

Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Musculoskeletal disorders. 
Email: linda.woodhouse@ualberta.ca

Jaynie Yang, PhD, Professor
Department of Physical Therapy
Research Focus: Neural control of walking in healthy individuals and those with spinal cord injuries.
Email: jaynie.yang@ualberta.ca