Contact Us

Research Services Office

222 Campus Tower
8625-112 Street
Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2E1

Phone: 780-492-5787
Fax: 780-492-0949

General inquiries: rsoinfo@ualberta.ca - Please include your UAlberta department/faculty


Staff Directory

Michael Walesiak
Interim Director, Research Services | Director, Finance & Administration 
Vice-President (Research and Innovation)
michael.walesiak@ualberta.ca
780-492-1642

Research Administrative Services

This team provides the operational and administrative framework to support UAlberta researchers and provide high-level tactical expertise to manage contracts/research grants. 

                       Associate Director   Nancy Klimczak nancy.klimczak@ualberta.ca
780-492-1452
Applications  Martine Desrochers
Research Facilitator
martine.desrochers@ualberta.ca
780-492-1575 | 780-886-9211 
RF Support Administrators  Denise Baker  denise.baker@ualberta.ca
780-492-8830
Krista Stefan krista.stefan@ualberta.ca
780-492-4685
Leona Erl leona.erl@ualberta.ca
780-492-6149
Carolyn Harrison caharris@ualberta.ca
780-492-6294
Agreements Julaine Herst
Assistant Director
julaine.herst@ualberta.ca
780-492-7885
Contract Specialists  Colleen Hanrahan colleen.hanrahan@ualberta.ca
780-492-2650
Ian Forsythe ian.forsythe@ualberta.ca
780-492-5670
Kristi Evans kristi.evans@ualberta.ca
780-492-1449
Helga Toleikis helga.toleikis@ualberta.ca
780-492-1301
Marjorie Grady marjorie.grady@ualberta.ca
780-492-8655
Patricia Sawatzky pat.sawatzky@ualberta.ca
780-492-0276
Michelle Marchand michelle.marchand@ualberta.ca
780-492-5805
Pearl Douglas pdouglas@ualberta.ca
780-492-2155
Sharon Campbell sharon.campbell@ualberta.ca
780-492-0548
Sarah Litvinchuk skeen@ualberta.ca
780-492-1011
Esther Yeung eyeung@ualberta.ca
780-492-1350
Martha Smith martha.smith@ualberta.ca
780-492-6145
Sarah MacFarlane sarah.macfarlane@ualberta.ca
780-492-2762
Shannon Kirk slkirk@ualberta.ca
780-492-4919
Business Process Administrators Alina Ivannikova alina.ivannikova@ualberta.ca
780-492-6247
Sarah Jane Marshall sfmarsha@ualberta.ca
780-492-5360
CFI/Institutional
Projects
Amin Karim
CFI coordinator 
amin1@ualberta.ca
780-492-1535
CFI Liaison/
Contract Specialist
Mireille Estephan mireille.estephan@ualberta.ca
780-492-8378
Contract Specialists Gareth Corry gcorry@ualberta.ca
780-492-8032
Liz Huston liz.huston@ualberta.ca
780-492-1430
Gonzalo Vilas gonzalo.vilas@ualberta.ca
780-492-2753
Ryan McKenzie ryan.mckenzie@ualberta.ca
780-492-6154
Aruna Augustine On leave
Finance Analysts Kris Biffis biffis@ualberta.ca
780-492-6260
Moiz Akber akber@ualberta.ca
780-492-6490
Yuting Hao yhao8@ualberta.ca
780-492-9798
Cameron Blackmore On leave
Research Relationships

Strategic support framework designed to promote a significant increase in research grant applications, provide high-level strategic advice to researchers, develop strong links with research ethics and technology transfer services; implement educational/professional development opportunities for researchers and academic professionals (e.g., postdoctoral fellows).

Research facilitators by faculty.

     Associate Director   Julie Stephens julie.stephens@ualberta.ca
780-492-9189
Information Management/
Help Desk
Chandra Wanigaratne
Manager, Information Management
chandra.wanigaratne@ualberta.ca
780-492-1838
Shawna Forrest
Grants administrator

sforrest@ualberta.ca
780-492-6289

Fran Jackson
Pre-Award Support Administrator
fran.jackson@ualberta.ca
780-492-1605

Research Faciltators

 

Lan Chan-Marples lan.marples@ualberta.ca
780-492-0639
Rene Dery rene.dery@ualberta.ca
780-492-6226
Terra Garneau

t.garneau@ualberta.ca
780-492-2184

Craig Taylor craig.taylor@ualberta.ca
780-492-8059
Angela McCormick angela.mccormick@ualberta.ca
780-492-2938
GAP Directors/
Senior Advisors

Julie Stephens 
Interim Contact 
Natural Sciences/Engineering

julie.stephens@ualberta.ca
780-492-9189
Heather Young-Leslie
Social Sciences/
Humanites 
heather.youngleslie@ualberta.ca
780-492-0842
Joanne Simala Grant
Health Sciences
jls24@ualberta.ca
780-492-1566
Administrative Support   Kerry Stamp kerry@ualberta.ca
780-492-0231

 

Research Finance

Provides financial expertise and support for researchers and for the VPRI portfolio.

Lorena Li Manager, Finance & Quality Assurance lorena.li@ualberta.ca
780-492-6284
Ariam Araya Finance Analyst ariam.araya@ualberta.ca
780-492-8817
Lidia Batorski Finance Analyst Team Lead lidia.batorski@ualberta.ca
780-492-6954
Alice Bouchard Financial Accountant alice.bouchard@ualberta.ca
780-492-0795
Olivia Cai Quality Assurance Analyst olivia.cai@ualberta.ca
780-492-9165
Neema Charania Finance Analyst ON LEAVE
Sherry Gu Finance Analyst sherrygu@ualberta.ca
780-492-5584
Kelly Hartley Finance Analyst kelly.hartley@ualberta.ca
780-492-6956
Lana Law Quality Assurance Analyst ON LEAVE
Omosolape Idowu Finance Analyst omosolap@ualberta.ca
780-492-5214
Lily Qin Finance Analyst lili.qin@ualberta.ca
780-492-6225
Janet Paterson Finance Analyst Team Lead janet.paterson@ualberta.ca
780-492-9650
Ada Tang Finance Analyst gongping.tang@ualberta.ca
780-492-6953
Yolanda Tsang Finance Analyst tsang1@ualberta.ca
780-492-6955
Grace Tian Finance Analyst grace.tian@ualberta.ca
780-492-3295
Abby Zhang Finance Analyst abby.zhang@ualberta.ca
780-492-6285
Jenny Zhang Finance Analyst jenny.zhang@ualberta.ca
780-492-3663
Gurmen Aujla Student Finance Assistant gurmen@ualberta.ca
780-492-4996
Linh Dang Student Finance Assistant ltd@ualberta.ca
780-492-7519
Harneet Khaira Student Finance Assistant khaira1@ualberta.ca
780-248-1377
Hanna Nguyen Student Finance Assistant vuhanna@ualberta.ca
780-492-5558
Wilson Yong Student Finance Assistant wyong@ualberta.ca
780-492-7519

Information Management

Chandra Wanigaratne Manager, Information Management chandra.wanigaratne@ualberta.ca
780-492-1838
Legal
Heidi Robinson Senior Legal Counsel heidi.robinson@ualberta.ca
780-492-1348
Francisco Marquez-Stricker Legal Counsel marquezs@ualberta.ca
780-492-4712
Canada Research Chair Coordinator
Glen Thomas, PEng Canada Research Chair Coordinator/Advisor crcadmin@ualberta.ca 
780-492-6266