CCD leaders receive Teaching Unit Award

CCD leaders are role models and "family" to dentistry students

Dentistry Staff - 01 June 2017

Providing student-focused and patient-centred care as its core teaching philosophy, the School of Dentistry's Comprehensive Care Delivery (CCD) team is the proud recipient of the University of Alberta's Teaching Unit Award.

Seen as role models and referred to as "family" by dentistry students, the award recognizes the CCD team's continual dedication and commitment to enhancing the student learning experience.

"We work as a team and it is very humbling to have received this award," says Trudy AuCoin, clinical assistant professor and division head of integrated patient care from the School. "The CCD model helps students break barriers and be better prepared to enter private practice. We've created a teamwork environment which helps builds a positive learning experience."

Along with AuCoin, recipients of the award includes CCD leaders Jack Margolus, Darrell Demchuk, Ivano Ongaro, David Tsujikawa, Edward Krause, Blaine AuCoin, Byron Wong, Marianne Howell and Loretta Hursin, who was instrumental in implementing the CCD model.

The CCD teaching model was implemented in 2012. Under the guidance of CCD leaders, who are general dentists as well, third and fourth-year students are divided into pods and patients are divided accordingly amongst them. This allows for more focused patient-care, which benefits both students and the patient.

Through mentorship from the CCD leaders, students develop professionally and gain an understanding of the values and responsibilities that are the foundation of dentistry.

"A lot of people support us and make this model possible," says AuCoin. "Without their commitment we wouldn't be successful."

The CCD team was presented the Teaching Unit Award during the University Teaching Awards Reception, May 15.