School of Library and Information Studies

Sessional Instructors 2018-2019

Nicola Amato
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
nicolaan@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 533 - Database Design for Information Management (IT)


Tanya Ball
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
tcball@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 598 - Indigenous Contexts for Library and Information Studies in Canada


Elizabeth Buchanan
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
ebuchana@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 592 - Intellectual Freedom and Social Responsibility in Librarianship


Sharon Farnel 
Metadata and Catalogue Librarian, University of Alberta Libraries
sharon.farnel@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 502 - Organization of Knowledge and Information
LIS 532 - Metadata


Kayla Lar-Son
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
verbicky@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 598 - Indigenous Contexts for Library and Information Studies in Canada


Margaret Law
Director, External Relations, University of Alberta Libraries
margaret.law@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 504 - Leadership & Management Principles for Library & Information Services
LIS 542 - Library Preservation, Security and Risk Management
LIS 545 - Management of Human Resources
LIS 598 - Management of Financial Resources


Jason Openo
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
openo@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 504 - Leadership & Management Principles for Library & Information Services 


Joanne Rodger
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
joanne.rodger@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 503 - Reference and Information Services
LIS 526 - Instructional Practices in Library and Information Services
LIS 548 - Library Services to Children and Young Adults
LIS 598 - Issues and Trends in Public Libraries

Alvin M. Schrader, PhD
Professor Emeritus
alvin.schrader@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 590 - Practicum


Robyn Stobbs
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
stobbs@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 534 - Information Architecture: Web Design for Usability (IT)
LIS 598 - Emerging and Evolving Technologies


Lei Zhang
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
lei4@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 502 - Organization of Information
LIS 532 - Metadata