School of Library and Information Studies

Sessional Instructors 2019-2020

Nicola Amato
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
nicolaan@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 533 - Database Design for Information Management (IT)


Tanya Ball
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
tcball@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 598 - Indigenous Contexts for Library and Information Studies in Canada


Kathleen de Long
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
kdelong@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 504 - Leadership & Management Principles for Library & Information Services
LIS 545 - Management of Human Resources


Sharon Farnel 
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
sharon.farnel@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 502 - Organization of Knowledge and Information
LIS 532 - Metadata 


Norene Erickson
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
njames@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 503 - Reference and Information Services
LIS 505 - Introduction to Research in Library and Information Studies


Janice Kung
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
Janice.kung@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 520 - Information Resources in Specialized Fields (An Introduction to Health Sciences Librarianship)


Kayla Lar-Son
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
verbicky@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 598 - Indigenous Contexts for Library and Information Studies in Canada


Margaret Law
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
margaret.law@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 504 - Leadership & Management Principles for Library & Information Services
LIS 531 - Collection Management
LIS 542 - Library Preservation, Security and Risk Management
LIS 546 - Marketing Library and Information Services
LIS 545 - Management of Human Resources
LIS 598 - Management of Financial Resources


Michael McCaffery
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
mjmccaff@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 598 - Government Publications


Jason Openo
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
openo@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 504 - Leadership & Management Principles for Library & Information Services 


Sarah Polkinghorne

Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
sarah.polkinghorne@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:
LIS 526 Instructional Practices in Library and Information Services
LIS 543 Human Information Interaction


Joanne Rodger

Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
joanne.rodger@ualberta.ca

Courses Taught:

LIS 503 - Reference and Information Services
LIS 526 - Instructional Practices in Library and Information Services
LIS 548 - Library Services to Children and Young Adults
LIS 598 - Issues and Trends in Public Libraries


Alvin M. Schrader, PhD
Professor Emeritus
alvin.schrader@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 590 - Practicum


Maggie Shane
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
mashane@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 585 - Multimedia Literacies
LIS 594 - Records Management


Robyn Stobbs
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
stobbs@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 534 - Information Architecture: Web Design for Usability (IT)
LIS 597 - Advanced Research and Scholarship in LIS
LIS 598 - Emerging and Evolving Technologies


Lei Zhang
Lecturer, School of Library & Information Studies
lei4@ualberta.ca

Course Taught:
LIS 502 - Organization of Information
LIS 532 - Metadata