Chemistry faculty cleans up at awards ceremony

    Staying true to their reputation for award excellence, Department of Chemistry faculty recently added five new accolades to their roster.

    By News Staff on June 21, 2016

    The University of Alberta Department of Chemistry is staying true to its reputation for award excellence, adding an astonishing five new accolades for faculty members earlier this month in Halifax at the annual Canadian Society for Chemistry conference.

    “We are delighted with the recognition the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) and its parent organization, the Chemical Institute of Canada, has shown to five members of our department through these prestigious awards,” says Jed Harrison, chair of the Department of Chemistry. “Our professors were acknowledged for outstanding performance in teaching, for research contributions in organic chemistry and in biochemistry, and for excellence as a young investigator.  We are especially pleased that what has become the most competitive award of the CSC, for outstanding research contributions by a female faculty member, went to Yunjie Xu. It is vanishingly rare for a single department to make such a showing in these awards, across such a large range of areas.”

    Congratulations to this year’s award winners: