NEW Killam Professor and SSHRC Grants in Sociology

    Five sociology faculty have received SSHRC research grants this year. And one of them, Professor Lisa Strohschein, is also winner of a Killam Annual Professorship. Congratulations to all! Click to see all 2019 recipients.

    July 30, 2019

    Congratulations to Lisa Strohschein  who was named Killam Annual Professor on June 25.

    The award is granted to faculty members based on the quality of their scholarly activities such as teaching, research, publications, creative activities, presented papers, and supervision of graduate students. 


    Congratulations to the following 2019 recipients (announced July 17, 2019)

    SSHRC Insight Grant

    Robyn Lee - Commodifying Care: Markets in Human Milk

    Rob Shields - From James Bay Hydroelectric Development to Eeyou Istchee: A 50-year Critical Technological Analysis of Community Response to Energy Export Infrastructure

    Lisa Strohschein - The Changing Dynamics of Parenthood in Canada

    Marta-Marika Urbanik - Searching for Justice: Understanding and Building Police Legitimacy in Toronto's Inner City


    SSHRC Insight Development Grant

    Jana Grekul - Women's Reintegration Post-Incarceration: A Gendered Approach to Release Planning and Transitional Programming


    2019 SSHRC Recipients (announced earlier this year)

    Sara Dorow - SSHRC Partnership Engage Grant - Mobile Work and Mental Health: The Challenges of Long-Distance Labour Commuting

    Kevin Haggerty - SSHRC Insight Development Grant - Corrections in the Time of the Opioid Crisis

    Temitope Oriola - SSHRC Insight Development Grant - Failure to Detonate: Gender and Inchoate Suicide Missions