Research Chairs

George Pavlich

Tier 1 Canada Research Chair

The founding promise of the Canadian criminal justice system was to reduce crime and rationalize punishment. Dr. Pavlich's research program reinvigorates that promise by offering a social theory to make sense of what it means to govern through notions of crime and punishment. That theory pursues ways to limit the number of people who enter the system in the first place, and seeks socially inclusive, but effective, ways to govern many actions now defined as crime.

Tier 1 Canadian Research Chairs, tenable for seven years and renewable, are awarded to outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields.

Rob Shields

Henry Marshall Tory Chair

Before being awarded the Tory Chair, Dr. Shields was a Professor of Sociology and past Director of the Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies at Carleton University, Ottawa. A Commonwealth Scholar, Rob Shields work spans architecture, planning and urban and regional geography. His interdisciplinary research is in the areas of cultural studies, regional development and locative media in the Intermedia Research Studio and in the City-Region Studies Centre. Current research includes the late work of Jean-Francois Lyotard and of Jean Baudrillard, suburban retail, facilitating studies of nanotech research clusters and editing projects such as a ‘City-Regions in Prospect’ (with K. Jones and A. Lord), ‘Ecologies of Affect’ (with T. Davidson and O.Park), and a monograph on ‘Topologies of Space’.

The Henry Marshall Tory Chair is named for the first President of the University 1908-1929, first President of the National Research Council of Canada 1928-1935, and first President of Carleton College 1942-1947.