The University of Alberta is a charter member of the Sustainability Tracking, Assessment and Rating System (STARS®).

STARS is a voluntary self-reporting framework developed by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education. This reporting system helps the university recognize and gauge progress towards sustainability. STARS helps our institution:

  • Track and report on our sustainability performance
  • Share and provide access to information about our sustainability practices 
  • Use a common set of measurements to compare our sustainability performance over time
  • Create incentives to continue improving sustainability on campus
  • Build a stronger culture of sustainability 

Our STARS Report

Some highlights from the university’s latest STARS report include:

  • 45 per cent of our faculty is engaged in sustainable research.
  • 11 out of 18 faculties consider interdisciplinarity in their tenure and promotion decisions.
  • The vehicle fleet includes 17 gasoline-electric hybrid vehicles and 20 electric vehicles.
  • Between 2005 and 2016 the university used 24 per cent less potable water per capita.
  • Shut the Sash promotes safety and sustainability in fume hood use.
  • The university has established a Sustainable Food Working Group.
  • The university’s primary dining contractor is Marine Stewardship Council certified.

It Takes a Village 

Many leaders across the university have made STARS reporting possible with their support and contributions: 

  • A–D
    Anastasia Lim
    Apryl Bergstom
    Barry Irving
    Benjamin Louie
    Brenda Briggs
    Brendan Woychuk
    Brett Buchanan
    Caitlin Phare
    Camila Zambrano Narvaez
    Carolyn Smolley
    Catherine Anley
    Catherine Swindlehurst
    Chris Blades
    Christie Schultz
    Christopher Avelar
    Crystal Snyder
    Dan Charlton
    David Whalen
    Destyni Deluca
    Dolores March
    Donna Nordstrom
  • F–K
    Fervone Goings
    Fiona Halbert
    Frank Robinson
    Geoff Rode
    Geraldine McCune
    Gillian Hanson
    Giovana Bianchi
    Gordon Weighell
    Howard Pruden
    Hugh Warren
    Jasmine Farahbakhsh
    Jennifer Alabiso
    Jessie Kwasny
    Jim Laverty
    John Younk
    Justis Allard
    Katharine Moore
    Kathleen Brough
    Kathryn Evans
    Kayleigh Wiebe
    Keith Hollands
    Kiann McNeill
    Kiersten Crane
    Kimberly MacLock
    Kimberly Uniat
    Kris Urbanczyk
    Kris Wells
    Kurt Borth
  • L–M
    Lauren Baril
    Leah Erikson
    Lauren Hall
    Leila Fanaeian
    Lilas Bielopotocky
    Lois Dvorsky
    Lorraine Huntley
    Maja Osmagic
    Marianne Meijer
    Marion Haggarty-France
    Matthew Summers
    Mike Versteege
    Monica Chahal
    Murray Brice
  • N–Z
    Naomi Krogman
    Nat Kav
    Pat Jansen
    Phil Rinn
    Phil Webb
    Randa Kachkar
    Ray Dumouchel
    Rob Munro
    Robert Summers
    Ron Ritter
    Sandra Shores
    Sarah Flower
    Sascha Jansz
    Shannon Leblanc
    Sherry Hickman
    Shilpi Gupta
    Suzanne Butler
    Terry Nonay
    Tom McLean
    Tracy Bear
    Trina Innes
    Troy Bender
    Victor Shewchuk
    Wade King
    Wayne Patterson
    Wendy Abel