UAlberta North

Grants and Scholarships

Northern Scientific Training Program (NSTP) grants:

The Northern Scientific Training Program (NSTP) Grants are sponsored by the Polar Knowledge Canada (PKC). The block grant awarded to the UofA is based on a submission of individual projects and reports on awards from previous years. Full guidelines for the NSTP are available online or as a PDF document.

The NSTP grants are a supplementary source of funds intended to initiate rather than completely support northern projects. NSTP terms of reference and eligibility criteria are set by the NSTP Management Committee of Polar Knowledge Canada.

 Frequently asked questions for NSTP 

Licences Permits and Other Requirements

UofA Northern Research Awards:

The UofA Northern Awards is sponsored by the Office of the Provost, University of Alberta. These awards are open to graduate and senior undergraduate students of the University of Alberta. They provide funds in support of research in any subject area.

The geographic area of focus is the circumpolar north (any area of the world north of the southern limit of the boreal forest). The priority is for costs related to field research expenses, but other expenses are considered. NOTE: These grants will NOT support the acquisition of equipment, or a salary for the applicant.

For more information on how to apply for both these funding programs, please go to Applying for Funding

Definition of North

For the purposes of the grants program, the term `North` is understood to include that part of Canada which lies north of the southern limit of the discontinuous permafrost zone in Canada (arctic and subarctic). For the UANRA envelope, the ‘North’ also includes the Northern Alberta Development Council Area of Alberta. The ‘Circumpolar North” refers to the eight countries of the Arctic Council (Canada, Finland, Greenland [Denmark], Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States [Alaska]). Please refer to the NSTP guidelines for changes in eligible areas for each of the Countries listed.

NSTP Guidelines for circumpolar country boundaries that are eligible ( Page 13)

Map Southern Limit of Discontinuous Permafrost Zone

Map-Northern Alberta Development Council Area of Alberta

For more information:
Trish Fontaine