Women's and Gender Studies

Graduate Students

Meet our amazing Gender & Social Justice Studies MA students!

Stefan Dehod
dehod@ualberta.ca
Anthony Goertz social justice, film & media
adgoertz@ualberta.ca
Paige Gorsak sexual assault; affect theory; feminist legal theory; transformative justice; prison abolitionism; anti-racist feminisms; environmental feminisms
gorsak@ualberta.ca
Danika Jorgensen McGuire                                                                                                                                                             
criminalization of adolescent/teenage sexual behavior (especially sexting); internet-based child pornography; genealogical approaches to criminality; feminist legal theory; feminist approaches to sexual violence; sexual deviance; feminist publishing studies; zines; anti-oppressive epistemologies
jorgense@ualberta.ca
Esra Kazanbas  sexuality & body politics in the modern Middle East; how nation state is built upon women's bodies
kazanbas@ualberta.ca
Roman Leksikov queer criminology; queer oppression (context: criminal & social injustice); toxic masculinity; toxic masculinity & violence in places of imprisonment & detention; violence & property redistribution in post-socialist era; hate crimes in eastern Europe & the world
leksikov@ualberta.ca
Tara Sliwkanich tlskiwka@ualberta.ca
Nicole Smith
smithacu@ualberta.ca
Gabrielle Warner
politics of representation; prison abolitionism; harm reduction approaches; feminist ethics of care; cultural studies; anarcha-feminism
gwarner@ualberta.ca
Samantha Wesch
Kant; Foucault; philosophy of sexuality; philosophy of popular culture; rap (Eminem); logic
wesch@ualberta.ca
Miraaj Yousif
women & Islam (terrorism, Sharia Law, feminism & Islam); rape culture; forced rape marriages; stigmatization of Muslim women
miraaj@ualberta.ca