Championship Tradition

Bakewell Award

One of the highlights of every Colour Night is the presentation of the Bakewell Trophy, awarded annually to the most outstanding female athlete at the University of Alberta. The Bakewell Trophy was first awarded in 1948-49. Donated by Miss Edna Bakewell, the trophy is presented by the Bakewell family to the top Panda athlete based upon athletic prowess, leadership, character and academic ability. The recipient is awarded a small replica of the trophy.


Year Recipient Sport(s)  
2017-18  Kristina Sanjevic  Tennis  
2016-17  Lindsey Post Hockey  
2015-16 Jessie Niles Volleyball  
2014-15 Kelsey Rocque Curling  
2013-14 Chelsea Guthrie Rugby  
2012-13 Jaki Ellis Volleyball  
2011-12 Jaki Ellis Volleyball  
2010-11 Keshia Wallin Soccer  
2009-10 Tiffany Proudfoot Volleyball  
2008-09 Tarin Podloski Hockey  
2007-08 Jennifer Newton Hockey  
2006-07 Lindsay McAlpine Hockey  
2005-06 Kristen Hagg Hockey  
2004-05 Danielle Bourgeois Hockey  
2003-04 Danielle Bourgeois Hockey  
2002-03 Maria Gallo Rugby  
2001-02 Nicole Chapdelaine Hockey  Soccer
2000-01 Heather Denkhaus Rugby  
1999-00 Jenny Cartmell Volleyball  
Sue Tingley Field Hockey  
1998-99 Jenny Cartmell Volleyball  
1997-98 Cheri Lansdown Volleyball  
1996-97 Carla Somerville Field Hockey  
1995-96 Miroslava Pribylova Volleyball  
Esther Medema Track & Field  
1994-95 Shannon Rosenow Soccer  
1993-94 Heather Jones Field Hockey  
1992-93 Debbie Gaudin Swimming  
Heather Jones Field Hockey  
1991-92 Janine Wood Soccer  
1990-91 Colleen Pistawka Volleyball  Field Hockey
1989-90 Keltie Duggan Swimming  
1988-89 Diane Patterson Gymnastics  
1987-88 Shelley Brewster Volleyball  
1986-87 Elizabeth Czenczek Field Hockey  
1985-86 Shona Schleppe Field Hockey  
1984-85 Mary Burzminski Cross-country  Track & Field
1983-84 Toni Kordic Basketball  
1982-83 Heidi Ross Gymnastics  
1981-82 Debbie Covey Field Hockey  Volleyball
1980-81 Trix Kannekens Basketball  
1979-80 Jean Mustard Field Hockey  
1978-79 Susan Farley Track & Field  
1977-78 Peggy Downton-Bureaud Gymnastics  
1976-77 Kathy Moore Basketball  Field Hockey
1975-76 Amanda Holloway Basketball  
1974-75 Susan Seaborn Field Hockey  Volleyball
1973-74 Wendy Martin Field Hockey  
1972-73 Brenda Walsh Track & Field  
1971-72 Connie Sanders Basketball  
1970-71 Lynda Phillips Basketball  
1969-70 Lorraine Ward Field Hockey  Volleyball
1968-69 Brenda Whitle Volleyball  
1967-68 Cathy Galusha Basketball Golf
1966-67 Maida Barnett Badminton  
1965-66 Beverly Richard Basketball Tennis/ Badminton
1964-65 Carolyn Dyck Volleyball Golf/ Curling
1963-64 Sandra Kirstien Basketball Golf/ Diving
1962-63 Joan Smith Gymnastics Volleyball
1961-62 June Coyle Volleyball  Golf/ Curling
1960-61 Patricia Jackson Basketball  Volleyball
1959-60 Jean Harvey Volleyball Basketball
1958-59 Sylvia Shaw Basketball  Volleyball
1957-58 Patricia McCleary Basketball  
1956-57 Betty Fisher Basketball Volleyball
1955-56 Mary Hendrickson Basketball  
1954-55 Nora Olson Basketball  
1953-54 Jolly Smart Basketball  
1952-53 Margaret Visser Basketball  Badminton/ Volleyball
1951-52 Ellinor Cook Basketball  
1950-51 Nancy Collinge Basketball  Badminton
1949-50 Ruby Anderson Basketball  
1948-49 Helen Eckert Basketball  Volleyball/Swimming/Fencing