Ilnicki and Sanjevic headline Green and Gold Award winners

    Ed Ilnicki and Kristina Sanjevic named 2017-18 University of Alberta Athletes of the Year

    By Connor Hood on April 5, 2018

    Fifth-year University of Alberta Golden Bears running back Ed Ilnicki has been named the winner of the Wilson Challenge Trophy as the U of A’s 2017-18 Male Athlete of the Year, while fifth-year Pandas tennis star Kristina Sanjevic has been awarded 2017-18 Bakewell Trophy as the Female Athlete of the Year. The honours were bestowed at the annual Green and Gold Athletic Awards which were held on April 5th at the University of Alberta’s Myer Horowitz Theatre.

    Other Green and Gold winners include: Courtney Holtkamp (Pandas Rugby) as the Female Rookie of the Year, Steven Owre (Golden Bears Hockey) as the Male Rookie of the Year, Pierre Baudin (Pandas Volleyball) as the winner of the R.G. Glassford Award in coaching, while Arran Chambers (Golden Bears Volleyball) and Lyndon Annetts (Golden Bears Basketball) earned Block ‘A’ Rings.

    Ilnicki becomes the 19th student-athlete from Golden Bears football to win the Wilson Challenge Trophy as the U of A’s top male athlete, and the first since Brian Fryer in 1976. Ilnicki completed one of the best seasons in Golden Bears and Canada West football history in 2017, winning both the conference and national player of the year awards. The Spruce Grove, Alta. product set a new single-season Canada West rushing record with 1,468 rushing yards, while also leading the country with 11 rushing touchdowns. On top of his athletic accomplishments, Ilnicki also spent the year as the President of the University Athletics Board, winning the Canada West Football Student-Athlete Community Service Award.

    After leading the Pandas tennis team to their second national championship last August, Sanjevic becomes just the second ever Pandas tennis athlete to capture the Bakewell Trophy as the University’s top female athlete (Bev Richards - 1966). The fifth-year tennis player was named 2017 National Championship MVP, before leading the Pandas to an undefeated varsity record in 2018, including repeating as Western Canadian University Champions. Sanjevic led the Pandas with a 10-0 singles record, an 8-0 doubles record, and a combined 130-37 total games record this season.

    Courtney Holtkamp was named the Female Rookie of the Year after leading the Pandas in both points and tries this past season, before also being named the Canada West Rookie of the Year. Holtkamp also spent time with both the U21 and Senior National rugby 7’s and 15’s teams this past fall.

    After leading the eventual U SPORTS Champion Golden Bears hockey team in goal scoring during Canada West play, Steven Owre was named the Male Rookie of the Year. Owre led all of Canada West with 17 goals in 28 Canada West games, while also leading all conference freshmen with 28 points in 28 games. Owre, who was also named the Canada West Rookie of the Year, is the first member of Golden Bears Hockey to win the U of A award since teammate Stephane Legault won in 2015.

    Arran Chambers (Golden Bears Volleyball) and Lyndon Annetts (Golden Bears Basketball) received the Block ‘A’ Ring for their superior demonstration of exceptional contribution to university sport in the areas of athletics, academics, community support, and leadership.

    The R.G. Glassford Award went to former Golden Bears Volleyball coach, and current Pandas Volleyball assistant Pierre Baudin. Baudin began his tenure at the University of Alberta in 1986, spending five seasons as head coach of the Golden Bears Volleyball team. Baudin has spent the last 16 seasons as an assistant coach/technical consultant with Pandas Volleyball, helping them capture six Canada West Championships and one national championship. He has also spent time running the CIS/CIAU International office, and was instrumental in the creation of the Universities High Performance Training and Research Centre.

    The final Green and Gold Athletic Society Award was the Outstanding Contributor Scholarship Award, which is presented to a member of the University Athletics Board (UAB) who has contributed significant time and energy to the UAB and has displayed outstanding commitment and service to the Golden Bears and Pandas Athletics program. This year’s recipient was UAB President Ed Ilnicki.