• Friday, March 6, 2020
  • 11:00 AM
  • Ottawa, Carleton - The Arena at TD Place
  • Box Score
Score1234Final
Western Mustangs1135152586
Golden Bears2412211572
Bears scoring leader: Brody Clarke with 17

Golden Bears fall to Mustangs in national quarter-final

Bears to play Calgary Dinos in consolation semifinal on Saturday

By Connor Hood on March 6, 2020

OTTAWA (U SPORTS) – Omar Shiddo, Eriq Jenkins, Aryan Sharma, and Nikola Farkic all scored in double figures during the Western Mustangs’ decisive 86-72 victory over the Alberta Golden Bears on Friday in their men’s quarterfinal game at the 2020 U SPORTS Final 8 Basketball Championships. 

Shiddo had 24 points, three rebounds and two assists for the Mustangs, while Brody Clarke and had 17 points and 13 rebounds in a losing cause for the Golden Bears. 

Western shot 45.9 per cent from the field and 60.7 per cent from three, compared to Alberta’s 46.9 per cent shooting and 25.0 percent from beyond the arc.

Alberta led 24-11 after the first quarter, but allowed Western to go on a 23-0 run in the second quarter. Western outscored Alberta 35-12 in the second.

The Bears rallied to withing five of Western late in the third quarter, but couldn't regain the lead. The Mustangs outscored Alberta by 10 in the fourth, holding on for a 14-point win. 

With the win, Western advances to play the winner of Calgary and Carleton on Saturday at 6:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. PT in the men’s championship semifinals, while Alberta takes on the loser of Calgary and Carleton in the men’s consolation semifinals at 1:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. PT Saturday at the Ravens Nest.

Boxscore

Nike Top Performers 

Western: Omar Shiddo
Alberta: Brody Clarke