Congratulating the 2017–18 Student Representatives

The Students' Union Building and Triffo Hall

Over the last few weeks, the students of University of Alberta have run elections for their 2017–18 representatives, the final results of which have all been released. On behalf of the University of Alberta, I’m pleased to congratulate all of the undergraduate and graduate students who were involved in this year’s elections, from the campaign teams to the voters. This year’s voter turnout, particularly in the Students’ Union election, exceeded expectations and demonstrated the growing involvement of our student body.

I would like to congratulate each of the following Students’ Union and Graduate Students’ Association representative-elects, including:

University of Alberta Students’ Union

Marina Banister, President-Elect

Robyn Paches, Vice-President-Elect (Operations and Finance)

Reed Larsen, Vice-President-Elect (External)

Shane Scott, Vice-President-Elect (Academic)

Ilya Ushakov, Vice-President-Elect (Student Life)

Mike Sandare, Undergraduate Board of Governors Representative (Elect)

University of Alberta Graduate Students’ Association

Babak Soltannia, President-Elect

Firouz Khodayari, Vice-President-Elect (Academic)

Masoud Khademi, Vice-President-Elect (External)

Sasha van der Klein, Vice-President-Elect (Labour)

Chenyang “Royle” Feng, Vice-President-Elect (Student Services)

The strength of our community lies in our diverse skills, perspectives, and experiences, which is why I’m looking forward to working with each of you in the year ahead. And although we still have more work to do together, I would like to thank the 2016–17 student representatives for your insights and contributions. You are helping to build a better University of Alberta.


David H. Turpin
President and Vice-Chancellor