Congratulations to the 2020 Teaching Excellence Awards Recipients

Image for Post

On behalf of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee, it is my pleasure to announce the University of Alberta’s 2020 Teaching Excellence Awards recipients.

We celebrate these awards annually as a way of publicly recognizing outstanding teaching. This year, however, the awards feel especially poignant. Over the past weeks our community has undertaken a sea-change in the way we teach, learn, and conduct campus life. Every member of our community has contributed to this transformation, and the U of A’s many instructors have invested an incredible effort in transitioning their courses to remote delivery and supporting their students through the pandemic.

I am proud to recognize these 2020 Teaching Excellence Awards recipients for their strong positive impact on students and colleagues, and for their contributions to an outstanding learning experience at the U of A.

Congratulations to our 2020 recipients:

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Samer Adeeb — Faculty of Engineering

Heather Coleman — Faculty of Arts

Tami Oliphant — Faculty of Education

Provost’s Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Alexandra Komrakova — Faculty of Engineering

Lauren Sulz — Faculty of Education

Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Heather Bruce — Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences

Sandipan Pramanik — Faculty of Engineering

Lin Snelling — Faculty of Arts

Tian Tang — Faculty of Engineering

Janet Wesselius — Augustana Campus

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Karsten Loepelmann — Faculty of Science

Kuo-Chan Sun — Faculty of Arts

Teaching Unit Award

HPE Med Cohort Teaching Unit: Doug Gleddie, Lauren Sulz and Hayley Morrison — Faculty of Education

I also want to thank the members of the GFC University Teaching Awards Committee for their thorough review and adjudication of this year’s award nominations.

Once again, congratulations to all of the 2020 recipients on this well-deserved recognition.

Steven Dew
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)