Steve Dew: Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Steve Dew

Steven Dew is in his first term as provost and vice-president (academic) at the University of Alberta.

An experienced administrator, and award-winning professor and researcher, Dr. Dew has been associate dean (research and planning) in the Faculty of Engineering since 1999, and a professor in electrical and computer engineering since completing his PhD in electrical engineering at the U of A in 1992. He also holds BASc (1987) and MASc (1989) degrees in engineering physics from the University of British Columbia.

With research expertise in nanofabrication, he has published more than 175 papers and is co-editor of Nanofabrication Techniques and Principles (2011). He is a recipient of the Killam Annual Professorship (2002), the McCalla Professorship (1998) and the Douglas R. Colton Medal for Research Excellence (1994).

Dr. Dew is a NINT fellow, vice-chair of the national committee developing nanotechnology standards under the International Standards Organization, and corporate board member of the non-profit TRTech, Canada's largest telecommunications research organization.