Recognized English Language Countries and Institutions

The English Language Requirement may be met by possession of a degree or its academic equivalent from an academic institution recognized by the University of Alberta, in which the language of instruction is English. Refer to English Language Requirement in the University Calendar for further details.

Countries in which English is the Official Language of Instruction

The University of Alberta recognizes English as the official language of instruction in the following countries. Applicants with credentials from these countries will have met the English Language Requirement in accordance with the above policy. Departments may require additional information so please check calendar for program specific requirements.

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • England
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Ireland (Northern)
  • Ireland (Republic of)
  • Jamaica
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Ryukyu Islands
  • Scotland
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Pacific Islands
  • St. Helena
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United Kingdom
  • USA
  • Virgin Islands
  • Wales

International Universities

Applicants with credentials from the following institutions in the designated countries will have met the English Language Requirement in accordance with the above policy.

Country University
  • Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET)
  • Chittagong University of Engineering and Technology
  • Dhaka University of Engineering and Technology
  • Independent University
  • Islamic University of Technology
  • Khulna University of Engineering and Technology
  • North South University
  • Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology (RUET)
  • Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (Engineering programs only)
  • University of Botswana
  • American University in Bulgaria
  • University of Buea
  • University of Asmara
  • Addis Ababa University
  • Alemaya University
  • Jimma University
  • American University in Cairo
  • International University
  • Jacob's University
  • Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
  • University of Cape Coast
  • University of Ghana
Hong Kong
  • City University of Hong Kong
  • Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Hong Kong University of Science & Tech
  • University of Hong Kong
  • Aligarh Muslim University
  • Anna University
  • Arunachal University
  • Assam Agricultural University
  • Berhampur University
  • Birla Institute of Technology (Ranchi)
  • Birla Institute of Technology and Science
  • Cochin University of Science & Technology
  • Gauhati University
  • Indian Institute of Management (Bangalore)
  • Indian Institute of Science
  • Indian Institute of Technology (All campuses)
  • Indian School of Mines
  • Jadavpur University
  • Karnatak University
  • Kerala Agricultural University
  • Konkan Agricultural University
  • Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda
  • Mahatma Gandhi University
  • Manipur University
  • National Institute of Technology Calicut
  • Sambalpur University
  • Symbiosis Institute of Technology
  • Tamil Nadu Agricultural University
  • Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
  • Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology
  • University of Calcutta
  • University of Health Sciences, Andhra Pradesh
  • University of Hyderabad
  • University of Kashmir
  • University of Kerala
  • University of North Bengal
  • Utkal University
  • West Bengal University of Technology
  • Catholic University of Eastern Africa
  • Egerton University
  • Jomo Kenyatta University of Agric & Tech
  • Kenyatta University
  • Maseno University
  • Moi University
  • University of Eastern Africa - Baraton
  • University of Nairobi
  • Kuwait University (Faculties of Science, Engineering and Petroleum, Allied Health Science, Medicine and the Department of English
  • American University of Beirut
  • Lebanese American University
  • Lebanese International University
  • National University of Lesotho
  • University of Malawi
  • University of Namibia
  • Aga Khan University
  • Gomal University
  • Hamdard University
  • Lahore University of Management Sciences
  • Mehran University of Engg & Technology
  • NED University of Engg & Technology
  • NWFP Agricultural University
  • NWFP University of Engg & Technology
  • Quaid-I-Azam University
  • Sindh Agriculture University, Tandojam
  • Sir Syed University of Engineering & Technology
  • University of Agriculture, Faisalabad
  • University of Engg & Technology, Lahore
  • University of Health Sciences
  • University of Punjab, Lahore
Papua New Guinea
  • Papua New Guinea University of Technology
  • University of Goroka
  • University of Papua New Guinea
  • Adamson University
  • Far Eastern University
  • Mindanao State University
  • National University
  • Silliman University
  • University of Negros Occidental - Recoletos
  • University of San Carlos
  • Xavier University
  • University of Rwanda
  • University of the South Pacific
Saudi Arabia
  • King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals
Sierra Leone
  • University of Sierra Leone
Sri Lanka
  • University of Moratuwa
  • Mzumbe University
  • Sokoine University of Agriculture
  • University of Dar es Salaam
  • Asian Institute of Technology
  • Assumption University
  • Mahidol University
  • Atilim University
  • Bilkent University
  • Bogazici University
  • Izmir Institute of Technology
  • Koc University
  • Middle East Technical University
  • Makerere University
  • Mbarara University of Science and Technology
United Arab Emirates
  • American University of Sharjah
  • Copperbelt University
  • University of Zambia
  • National University of Sci & Tech
  • University of Zimbabwe
  • Zimbabwe Open University

For more information, see English Language Institutions in Section 5.8 English Language Proficiency Requirement in the Graduate Program Manual.