VP Transitions and Reviews

The president is responsible for establishing the Vice-Presidential Advisory Search Committee and the Vice-Presidential Advisory Review Committee to provide recommendations on the appointment and reappointment of vice-presidents.

VP Transitions

  • The University Relations and Advancement portfolios will be merged into one office of External Relations under the leadership of one Vice-President. In the meantime, Kelly Spencer is Interim Vice-President (Advancement) and Catherine Swindlehurst is Interim Vice-President (University Relations).
  • The Research and Innovation portfolio is currently in transition. Walter Dixon is Interim Vice-President (Research and Innovation). 
  • The Finance and Administration portfolio is currently in transition.

VP Reviews

The Vice-Presidential Advisory Review Committee is established to provide recommendations to the president on the reappointment of vice-presidents.

Call for Consultation: Vice-President (Finance and Administration) Search

With the Vice-President (Finance & Administration) search now underway, members of the U of A community are welcome to express their views on the priorities of the Vice-President (Finance & Administration) including: current issues, leadership, and the future direction of the office. Your time in completing this short survey is greatly appreciated. Feedback should be submitted by 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, August 4, 2020.

Common themes arising from this survey will be summarized in an anonymous manner and shared confidentially with the Advisory Search Committee for the Vice-President (Finance and Administration).

Composition of the Advisory Search Committee for Vice-President (Finance and Administration)
The Advisory Review Committee composition is directed by UAPPOL Review Procedure for Vice-Presidents.

President as Chair of the Committee Bill Flanagan
Provost and Vice-President (Academic) Steven Dew
Board of Governors – one member appointed by the Board Mona Hale
Academic Staff - two members elected by the faculty and the appointed academic staff representatives on GFC.

Lise Gotell, Department of Women’s and Gender Studies

Vikas Mehrotra, Department of Finance

Statutory Dean’s Council – two members including appointed (D1.1) members, one of whom must be a Dean

Greta Cummings, Faculty of Nursing

Joseph Doucet, School of Business

Students’ Union (SU) – one appointed member by the Students’ Council Alana Krahn, VP (Operations and Finance), Students’ Union
Graduate Students’ Association (GSA) – one appointed member by the GSA Anas Fassih, VP (External), Graduate Students’ Association
Ex-officio Catherine Swindlehurst, Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Secretary to the Committee Bobbi Schiestel, Director, Office of the President