Awards and Funding

Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship:

Canada's most prestigious postdoctoral award, the program provides funding to the very best postdoctoral applicants who will positively contribute to the country's economic, social and research-based growth. Each year, 70 fellowships are awarded, each worth $70,000 per year (taxable) with a duration of two years (non-renewable).


Izaak Walton Killam Memorial / Grant Notley Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowships:

The Killam Scholarship and Prizes were established in memory of Izaak Walton Killam by his wife, Dorothy J Killam, to support advanced education and research at five Canadian universities and the Canada Council for the Arts, and are available for most fields of research.


Neuroscience Fellowships

The purpose of the Dr. Rowland and Muriel Haryett Neuroscience Fellowship is to attract outstanding scientists to the University of Alberta to conduct postdoctoral research in neuroscience. Two awards are available annually. Fellowships are awarded competitively based on the strength of the candidate, and the excellence of the research proposal and laboratory. The supervisor must be a member of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute (NMHI).


Avadh Bhatia Women's Postdoctoral Fellowship

The award is conferred to a woman who is a recent PhD graduate with a demonstrated potential for excellence in physics research. It was established by the late Mrs. June Bhatia in memory of her late husband, Professor Avadh Bhatia.


Theoretical Physics Institute Postdoctoral Fellowship

This competitive fellowship is aimed at a recent PhD graduate (within 3 years of PhD degree) in theoretical physics with demonstrated potential for excellence in research.


External Funding Sources