Professor recognized as member of team supporting women in in STEM

Lianne Lefsrud and colleagues earn APEGA Award for support of Women in STEM

26 April 2019

Engineering at Alberta professor Lianne Lefsrud was part of a team presented with the Women in Engineering and GeoScience Champion Award for their support of women in STEM. The team served on the steering committee for the 2018 Canadian Coalition of Women in Engineering, Science, Trades and Technology (CCWESTT) Conference.

Every two years, CCWESTT hosts a conference, organized by a volunteer host committee separate from the national board, to celebrate the contributions of women in SETT and to provide education, workshops, and networking opportunities.

Last year, the CCWESTT 2018 Conference Steering Committee compiled a list of 10 considerable conference goals-including increasing male attendance, actively engaging indigenous youth, and partnering with a broad range of industries representing SETT. The committee accomplished every objective. Through professional development opportunities, an interactive and productive policy forum, and an inspiring roster of keynote speakers, the committee delivered a conference that solidly increased the visibility of women in engineering and geoscience.

This three-day, national event brought together subject matter experts, employers, government representatives, and women in SETT to share their knowledge and experience around diversity and inclusion. Under the theme of Learn, Grow, Act, the conference provided a space to discuss emerging research, best practices, and practical solutions. A total of 65 diverse sessions, in six parallel streams, covered all areas of SETT. Topics included indigenous inclusivity, intersectionality and the LGBTQ2+ community, and negotiating for success and non-linear career paths.

The CCWESTT 2018 Conference Steering Committee consisted of: Margaret-Ann Armour, CM, PhD, Lianne Lefsrud, P.Eng., PhD, Anjum Mullick, P.Eng., Ingrid Pederson, P.Eng., Claudia Villeneuve, P.Eng.