FGSR Great Supervisor Awards

Great Supervisor Awards

The FGSR Great Supervisor Award recognizes supervisors who demonstrate strong supervisory skills or who foster mentorship in their programs. A great supervisor is someone who has been particularly helpful, such as a supportive supervisory committee member, or someone who fosters good supervision and mentorship in your program.

Nominations for Great Supervisor Awards are submitted to FGSR by the academic departments in which the supervisors do their outstanding work.

Important Note

FGSR has decided to pause nominations for the 2020-2021 Great Supervisor Award. While we recognize the continued hard work of graduate supervisors, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic, FGSR is currently in the process of reviewing the award. In the coming year, we will be establishing criteria so that it better acknowledges the continued dedication of supervisors.

2020 Great Supervisor Award Recipients

The Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research announced the 2020 recipients of the Great Supervisor Awards. While our celebration event has been postponed, we hope that you will join us in congratulating the following outstanding mentors.

2020 Great Supervisor Award Winners

Department or Faculty Winner
Art and Design Aidan Rowe
Biochemistry David Stuart
Biological Sciences Lisa Stein
Business (PhD) Sarah Moore
Chemical and Materials Engineering Natalia Semagina
Chemistry Sarah Styler
Civil and Environmental Engineering Leila Hashemian
Computing Science Russell Greiner
Dentistry Daniel Graf
Drama Donia Mounsef
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Murray Gingras
East Asian Studies Yoshi Ono
Educational Policy Studies Lynette Shultz
Electrical and Computer Engineering Yunwei (Ryan) Li
Extension Kevin Jones
Human Ecology Rhonda Breitkreuz
Laboratory Medicine and Pathology Jelena Holovati
Mathematical and Statistical Sciences Hao Wang
Mechanical Engineering Cagri Ayranci
Medical Genetics Michael Walter
Modern Languages and Cultural Studies Astrid Ensslin
Pediatrics Alvaro Osornio Vargas
Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Dion Brocks
Physics Joseph Maciejko
Political Science Yasmeen Abu-Laban
Rehabilitation Medicine Kim Adams
Renewable Resources Uwe Hacke
School of Public Health Jane Springett
Secondary Education Olenka Bilash
Sociology Ken Caine

For more information, contact:

Victoria Ruétalo
Associate Dean (Supervisor Training & Mentorship & Student Academic Affairs)

Recent Recipients

The Great Supervisor Awards, 2019

The Great Supervisor Awards, 2018