Health, Safety, and Environment Committees

The University of Alberta has the following committees in place to advance health, safety, and environment best practices across the institution and to meet requirements set forth in OHS legislation:

Faculty/Portfolio HSE Committees

Are you interested in joining or contacting your committee? Contact your committee chair (or alternate) from the list below. Don't see your committee below? Email hse.info@ualberta.ca.

ALES

Co-Chair: Urmila Basu ubasu@ualberta.ca

Co-Chair: Jay Willis jay.willis@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Kim Schaerer kim.schaerer@ualberta.ca

Arts

Chair: John Raymond johnr@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Victoria Pham vpham2@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah dgmah@ualberta.ca

Augustana

Chair: James Smith jbsmith1@ualberta.ca

Alternate: David King dck@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Myja Trinh myja@ualberta.ca

Botanic Garden

Chair: Carl Charest charest@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Len Chambers len@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah dgmah@ualberta.ca

Business

Chair: Nadine Badry nbadry@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Lorelei Betke lbetke@ualberta.ca

Campus Recreation/Athletics/Steadward Centre

Chair: Cheryl Harwardt charward@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Brian Gratrix brian.gratrix@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Lois Dvorsky ldvorsky@ualberta.ca

Campus St-Jean

Chair: Patriciane Nankoua Ngueyep nankoua@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Christian Tremblay cjt2@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Lois Dvorsky ldvorsky@ualberta.ca

Dean of Students

Chair: Kevin Friese friese@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Helen Vallianatos hv@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Lois Dvorsky ldvorsky@ualberta.ca

Education

Chair: Laura Boisvert laura.boisvert@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Iza Martyniak martynia@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson ghodgson@ualberta.ca

Engineering

Chair: Gord Winkel gord.winkel@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Syed Biyabani biyabani@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Andrew Cooper acooper2@ualberta.ca

Extension

Chair: Bryan Braul bbraul@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Michael Splinter michael.splinter@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Lorelei Betke lbetke@ualberta.ca

External Relations

Chair: Yvonne Regnier yvonne.regnier@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson ghodgson@ualberta.ca

Facilities and Operations
Chair: Lara McClelland lcmcclel@ualberta.ca
KSR

Chair: TBD

Law

Co-Chair: Julie McClelland law.administration@ualberta.ca

Co-Chair: Gloria Strathern lawaward@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Lana Appelt lana@ualberta.ca

Library and Learning Services

Chair: Tim Klassen twklasse@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Darryl Hopkins darryl.hopkins@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah dgmah@ualberta.ca

Medicine & Dentistry

Chair: Taniya Birbeck tbirbeck@ualberta.ca

Alternate: TBD

HSE Liaison: Dan Dragon dragon@ualberta.ca

Nanofab

Chair: Michael Hume michael.hume@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson ghodgson@ualberta.ca

Native Studies

Chair: Adam Gaudry gaudry@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Kim Schaerer kschaere@ualberta.ca

Nursing

Chair: Dawn MacRitchie dawn.macritchie@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Sandra Music smusic@ualberta.ca

Pharmacy

Chair: Christine Ma christine.ma@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Arno Siraki siraki@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Kseniya Revunova revunova@ualberta.ca

Public Health

Chair: 

Alternate: 

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson ghodgson@ualberta.ca

Rehabilitation Medicine

Chair: Priya Swamy pswamy@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Deborah Palmer dallen@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Lana Appelt lana@ualberta.ca

 

Science

Chair: Kate Nichols hogberg@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Bill Bedard wbedard@ualberta.ca

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah dgmah@ualberta.ca

University Services & Finance

Chair/HSE Liaison: Michelle Rooker mrooker@ualberta.ca

Alternate: Phil Webb phil.webb@ualberta.ca