Health, Safety, and Environment Committees

The University of Alberta has the following committees in place to advance health, safety, and environment best practices across the institution and to meet requirements set forth in OHS legislation:

Faculty/Portfolio HSE Committees

Are you interested in joining or contacting your committee? Contact your committee chair (or alternate) from the list below. Don't see your committee below? Email


Co-Chair: Urmila Basu

Co-Chair: Jay Willis

HSE Liaison: Kim Schaerer


Chair: Victoria Pham

Alternate: Eva Glancy

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah


Chair: Alexis Anderson

Alternate: David King

HSE Liaison: Myja Trinh

Botanic Garden

Chair: Carl Charest

Alternate: Len Chambers

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah


Chair: Nadine Badry

Alternate: Lisa Grondin

HSE Liaison: Lorelei Betke

Campus Recreation/Athletics/Steadward Centre

Chair: Cheryl Harwardt

HSE Liaison: Lois Dvorsky

Campus St-Jean

Chair: Patriciane Nankoua Ngueyep

HSE Liaison: Lois Dvorsky

Dean of Students

Chair: Kevin Friese

Alternate: Helen Vallianatos

HSE Liaison: Lois Dvorsky


Chair: Laura Boisvert

Alternate: Iza Martyniak

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson


Chair: Gord Winkel

Alternate: Syed Biyabani

HSE Liaison: Andrew Cooper

External Relations

Chair: Yvonne Regnier

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson

Facilities and Operations
Chair: Lara McClelland

Chair: Christine Legault


Co-Chair: Julie McClelland

Co-Chair: Gloria Strathern

HSE Liaison: Lana Appelt

Library and Learning Services

Chair: Tim Klassen

Alternate: Kim Bates

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah

Medicine & Dentistry

Chair: Taniya Birbeck

Alternate: TBD

HSE Liaison: Dan Dragon


Chair: Michael Hume

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson

Native Studies

Chair: Adam Gaudry

HSE Liaison: Kim Schaerer


Chair: Dawn MacRitchie

HSE Liaison: Sandra Music


Chair: Christine Ma

Alternate: Arno Siraki

HSE Liaison: Kseniya Revunova

Public Health

Co-Chairs: Irina Dinu ( and Helen Starodub (

HSE Liaison: Greg Hodgson (

Rehabilitation Medicine

Chair: Amy Peters

Alternate: Deborah Palmer

HSE Liaison: Lana Appelt



Chair: Kate Nichols

Alternate: Jill Bagwe

HSE Liaison: Danny Mah

University Services & Finance

Chair/HSE Liaison: Michelle Rooker

Alternate: Phil Webb