Department of Music: Committees and Meeting Schedules

Page Updated: Aug. 10, 2020. All regularly scheduled meetings are held on Wednesdays at 4:00, except as noted. Committee chairs may call additional meetings as required. Jump to: 

2020-2021 Department Council
Location:
online (Zoom – links will be distributed via email in advance of each meeting)

Meeting Schedule for Department Council:
Wed. Sept. 2 2020, 4:00-6:00
Wed. Oct. 7 2020, 4:00-6:00
Wed. Nov. 4 2020, 4:00-6:00
Wed. Dec. 2 2020, 4:00-6:00
Wed.Jan. 6 2021, 4:00-6:00
Wed. Feb. 3 2021, 4:00-6:00
Wed. Mar. 3 2021, 4:00-6:00
Wed. Apr. 7 2021, 4:00-6:00
Wed. May 5 2021, 10:00-noon (n.b. different time)

Full Voting Membership of Department Council:
Patricia Tao, Interim Chair
Morgan Gauthier, Assistant Chair, Administration
All Continuing Members of Faculty
Lucinda Johnston, Music Librarian
All full-time lecturers and full-time contract instructors
Postdoctoral Fellows, Canada Research Chairs, etc.
MSA Representative: Brianna Bolt
GMSA Representative: Corona Wang
Part-Time Instructor Representative, Academic Area: TBA
Part-Time Instructor Representative, Performance Area:TBA


2019-20 Department of Music Committees

Graduate Committee
Location: online – contact convener for details

Maryam Moshaver, Committee Chair
Brian Fauteux
Fabio Morabito
Timothy Shantz
Scott Smallwood
Guillaume Tardif
Graduate Advisor: Kimberly Arndt
GMSA Representative: Corona Wang

Wed. Sept. 16, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 21, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 18, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Dec. 16, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 20, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Feb. 17, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Mar. 17, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Apr. 21, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. May 19, 2021 - 4:00pm

Undergraduate Committee
Location: online – contact convener for details

Mark Hannesson, Committee Chair
Angela Schroeder
John Tessier
Julia Byl
Gregor Kokorz
Undergraduate Advisor: Stephen Tchir
MSA Representative: Brianna Bolt

Wed. Sept. 16, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 21, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 18, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Dec. 16, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 20, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Feb. 17, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Mar. 17, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Apr. 21, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. May 19, 2021 - 4:00pm


Area Coordination and Meetings:

These two meeting groups exist to enable the discussion of issues to particular areas of the department and to formulate proposals. Their decisions or recommendations should be forwarded to the appropriate department standing committee (Graduate or Undergraduate). Additional meetings may be called by the area convener.

Academic and Composition Area Meeting Group
Location: online – contact convener for details

Brian Fauteux, Convener
Mark Hannesson
Maryam Moshaver
Fabio Morabito
Laurel Parsons
Scott Smallwood
Julia Byl
Brian Fauteux
Andriy Talpash

Wed. Sept. 9, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 14, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 25, 2020 - 4:00pm [note different time; second Wednesday is Remembrance day]
Wed. Dec, 9 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 13, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Feb. 10, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Mar. 10, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Apr. 14, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. May 12, 2021 - 4:00pm

Performance Area Meeting Group
Location: online – contact convener for details

Jacques Després, Convener
Allison Balcetis
Viktoria Reiswich-Dapp
Angela Schroeder
Timothy Shantz
Patricia Tao
Guillaume Tardif
Elizabeth Turnbull

Wed. Sept. 9, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Oct. 14, 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Nov. 25, 2020 - 4:00pm [note different time; second Wednesday is Remembrance day]
Wed. Dec, 9 2020 - 4:00pm
Wed. Jan. 13, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Feb. 10, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Mar. 10, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. Apr. 14, 2021 - 4:00pm
Wed. May 12, 2021 - 4:00pm


Sub-Area Conveners:

Allison Balcetis (Chamber Music)
Jacques Després (Keyboard)
Brian Fauteux (Ethnomusicology, Musicology, and World Music Ensembles)
Maryam Moshaver (Theory and Aural Skills)
Timothy Shantz (Choral Conducting)
Angela Schroeder (Wind/Percussion)
Scott Smallwood (Composition)
Guillaume Tardif (Strings)
John Tessier (Voice)

Student Advising:

B.Mus., B.Mus./B.Ed.
Mark Hannesson, Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies
Stephen Tchir, Undergraduate Advisor

M.Mus., D.Mus., M.A., Ph.D.
Maryam Moshaver, Associate Chair of Graduate Studies
Kimberly Arndt, Graduate Advisor

B.A. Honours, B.A. Major/Minor in
Music
Mark Hannesson, Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies


Other Committees:

Scholarship Committee
John Tessier (Committee Chair)
Angela Schroeder
Jacques Despres
Guillaume Tardif
Andriy Talpash

Chair's Executive Committee
Patricia Tao, Interim Chair
Morgan Gauthier, Assistant Chair, Administration
Maryam Moshaver, Associate Chair, Graduate
Mark Hannesson, Associate Chair, Undergraduate

President's Fund Committee
William Street
Morgan Gauthier
Mark Hannesson
Brian Fauteux
Guillaume Tardif
John Tessier

 

FEC Advisory Committee 2020-21
Assistant Professor Representative - TBD
Associate Professor Representative - TBD
Full Professor Representative - TBD

 

Affiliated Centres and Institutes
Canadian Centre for Ethnomusicology - Michael Frishkopf, Director and Academic Curator; Julia Byl, Associate Director
Sound Studies Institute - Scott Smallwood, Director