2021 Alumni Award Recipients

University of Alberta alumni around the globe uphold the promise to use their education "for the public good" through their professional achievements, community service and innovation. The Alumni Awards recognize these contributions and tell the stories of our exceptional alumni, inspiring us all to Do Great Things. 

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award is the Alumni Association's highest honour. It recognizes the outstanding lifetime accomplishments of alumni who have earned national or international regard or have had significant local impact as a result of their outstanding professional achievements and/or service to society.

Janaki Alavalapati, '90 MSc, '95 PhD

Brian Corrigan, ’89 BSc(Pharm), ’96 PhD

Liz Ingram, ’76 MVA

Richard Sherbaniuk, '48 BSc, '52 MD, '56 MSc


Alumni Honour Award
Recognizes the significant achievements and contributions over a number of years by University of Alberta alumni to their profession and/or their community.


Cheryl Cable, '92 BSc, '97 DDS, '04 MBA


C. Adèle Kent, '77 LLB

Seung-Ryul Lee, ’11 PhD

Linda MacDonald, '88 BSc(PT), '94 BA 

Albert Murtha, '85 BMedSc, '87 MD

Anne Naeth, '76 BSc, '85 MSc, '88 PhD


Erasmus Okine, '90 PhD 

John Ramsey, '62 BSc(ChemEng)

Kathy Reid, '08 MNurs


Melynnie Rizvi, '95 BCom, '99 LLB


Alison Schneider, '11 MBA


Shelley Spaner, ’86 BPE, '94 BMedSc, '96 MD


Alumni Horizon Award
Recognizes the outstanding professional achievements and/or contributions to community of recent graduates. Nominees must be 40 years of age or younger at nomination deadline.

Terri Aldred, '10 BMedSci, '11 MD

Billy-Ray Belcourt, '16 BA, '20 PhD


Victor Do, '19 BMedSci, '20 MD


Eva Glancy, '10 BA(Hons), '18 MBA


Chris Henderson, '05 BA

Sumantra (Monty) Ghosh, '16 PostgradCert(MedEd)


Alumni Service Award
Recognizes alumni who have demonstrated an extraordinary level of commitment, dedication and volunteer service to the University of Alberta.

Kristina Milke, ’94 BCom

Kairi Pawlick, ’05 BSc(CivEng)


Alumni Innovation Award
Recognizes an innovative program, process or product created, implemented or discovered by a University of Alberta alumnus or group of alumni. The program, process or product has significantly impacted their profession, community, society at large or the U of A. 

Xudong (Terry) Song, ’10 MSc and Xudong (Sheldon) Zhang, ’12 BSc(ElecEng) 


Sports Wall of Fame
Recognizes the contributions of alumni as athletes and builders of University of Alberta sport.

Deb Younger, '93 BCom, '98 BEd

Heather Murray, ’98 BA(RecAdmin)

Kristen Hagg, '05 BSc(Kinesiology), '12 JD

Mark Korthuis, ’07 BA(RecSpoTourism)

Pascal Cardinal, ’03 BSc