Name Title Email Office
Vinay Prasad Chair vprasad@ualberta.ca 12-224 DICE
Aneta Thompson Interim Academic Department Manager aneta.thompson
@ualberta.ca
12-226 DICE
Tony Yeung Vice-Chair, Undergraduate tony.yeung@ualberta.ca 12-241 DICE
Hao Zhang Associate Dean, Graduate Program hao.zhang@ualberta.ca 12-230 DICE
Name Title Email Research Areas
Erin Bobicki Associate Professor bobicki@ualberta.ca
Robert Burrell Professor rburrell@ualberta.ca Biomedical Engineering Nanomaterials, Nanofabrication, Medical Devices and Drug Delivery
Ken Cadien Professor kcadien@ualberta.ca Nanomaterials and Nanofabrication, Surface Science and Engineering
Weixing Chen Professor weixing.chen@ualberta.ca Corrosion and Wear
Hyo-Jick Choi Associate Professor hyojick@ualberta.ca Epidemic/Pandemic Disease Control Measures, Vaccine Technology, Airborne Pathogen Deactivation Technology, Antimicrobial Face Masks, Antimicrobial Surfaces Against Food-Borne/Water-Borne/Hospital Associated Infectious Disease Transmission, Oral/Transdermal Vaccine/Biopharmaceutical Formulations
Phillip Choi Professor phillip.choi@ualberta.ca Mathematical and Molecular Modeling, Materials Characterization and Processing, Inverse gas Chromatography, Polymer Properties, Biopolymer Properties, Polymer Dynamics, Polymer Solution Thermodynamics. Polymeric Drug Carriers. Intelligent Fertilizers. Molecular Simulation, Solvent Extraction of Oilsands, Solvent Recovery, Utilization of Protein Wastes
Hyun-Joong Chung Associate Professor chung.hj13@ualberta.ca Elastomers, Gels, Biomedical devices, Stretchable electronics, Smart textiles
Arno de Klerk Professor deklerk@ualberta.ca Conversion Processes, Catalysis, Coal, Petroleum, Energy and Fuels
Stevan Dubljevic Associate Professor stevan.dubljevic@ualberta.ca Distributed Parameter Sytem Process Control, Fluid flow systems control and monitoring, Thermodynamical transport-reaction modelling ,monitoring and control, Biophysical cardiac systems, Mathematical and Commputer large scale modelling and simulations, Steel manufacturing process modelling and control, Mineral Processing Control and Monitoring, Geothermal Enery Harvesting, Irrigation systems control, monitoiring and algae suppression
Anastasia Elias Professor / Associate Dean, Research and Innovation aelias@ualberta.ca Microfabrication, Nanomaterials, Composites, Polymers, Sensors, Additive Manufacturing, Engineering Faculty Executive
Janet AW Elliott University of Alberta Distinguished Professor & Canada Research Chair in Thermodynamics janet.elliott@ualberta.ca Thermodynamics, Biomedical Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, Transport Phenomena - Fluid dynamics/ mass and heat transfer, Mathematical and Molecular Modeling, Nanomaterials and Nanofabrication, Oil Sands, Energy, Surface Science and Engineering, Cryobiology and Cryopreservation
Thomas H Etsell Professor tom.etsell@ualberta.ca Materials Characterization and Processing
Fraser Forbes Professor fraser.forbes@ualberta.ca Optimization, Process Control
Ajay Ganesh Assistant Instructor Professor ganesh@ualberta.ca Complex Systems and Control, Data Science, Machine Learning, Multi-Physics Processes
Robert E Hayes Professor / Associate Chair, Research bob.hayes@ualberta.ca Reaction Engineering and Catalysis, Transport Phenomena - Fluid dynamics/ mass and heat transfer, Mathematical and Molecular Modeling, Energy
Hani Henein Professor hani.henein@ualberta.ca Materials Process Engineering Applied to Additive Manufacturing, Rapid Solidification, Steel Processing, Pipeline Steels, Thermophysical Property Measurements, Microgravity Materials Science
Biao Huang Professor biao.huang@ualberta.ca Process Control, Oil Sands, Energy, Automation, Machine Learning, Data Analytics, System Identification, Fault Detection
Douglas G Ivey Professor doug.ivey@ualberta.ca Materials Characterization, Electron Microscopy, Electrochemical Energy Storage/Conversion, Pipeline Steels
Mohd Adnan Khan Assistant Professor mohd3@ualberta.ca Energy Transition; Techno-economic and Life-cycle Analysis; Hydrogen; Renewables; Electrocatalysis
Elizabeth Lee Assistant Lecturer elizabeth.lee@ualberta.ca Engineering Technical Staff
Lianne Lefsrud

Associate Professor, Risk Innovation and Sustainability Chair (RISC)

lefsrud@ualberta.ca Risk Management, Risk Communication, Leadership, Technology Adoption, Process Safety, Management Systems, Organizational Theory, Sustainability, Climate Change, Energy Systems
Dongyang Li Professor dongyang.li@ualberta.ca Wear, Corrosion, Material design, Tribo-materials, Surface Science and Engineering, Computational Materials Science
Leijun Li Professor leijun@ualberta.ca Welding Metallurgy, High Temperature Mechanical Properties, Pipelines and Pressure Vessels, Engineering Failure Analysis
Zukui Li Associate Professor zukui@ualberta.ca Optimization, Process Systems Engineering, Process Control, Data Analytics, Machine Learning
Jinfeng Liu Professor jinfeng@ualberta.ca Process Systems Engineering, Mathematical and Molecular Modeling, Energy, Artificial Intelligence
Jing Liu Assistant Professor jing.liu.arrow@ualberta.ca Corrosion; High entropy alloys; High temperature; Electrochemistry
Qi Liu Professor qi.liu@ualberta.ca Oil Sands and Energy, Mineral Processing
Qingxia Liu Professor qingxia2@ualberta.ca Biomedical Engineering
William McCaffrey Professor william.mccaffrey@ualberta.ca Biochemical Engineering, Oil Sands and Energy, Reactions and Catalysis
Patricio Mendez Professor pmendez@ualberta.ca Welding and Metallurgy
Samir H Mushrif Associate Professor mushrif@ualberta.ca Computational Catalysis, Molecular Modeling, Reaction Engineering, Alternate Energy and Fuels, Biomass Conversion, CO2 Reduction, Hydrogen Production, Condensed Phase Chemistry
Ravin Narain Professor narain@ualberta.ca Advanced Polymers, Nanomaterials, Biomedical Engineering, Cell and Tissue Engineering, Biomaterials, Glycosciences, Drug and Gene Therapy, Surfaces, Hydrogels.
Neda Nazemifard Associate Professor neda.nazemifard@ualberta.ca Fluid Dynamics, Oil Sands and Energy
Petr Nikrityuk Professor nikrityu@ualberta.ca Transport Phenomena - Fluid dynamics/ mass and heat transfer Energy Energy and Heat Storage
John Nychka Professor / Vice-Provost (Learning Initiatives) jnychka@ualberta.ca Materials Characterization and Processing, Biomedical Engineering, Regenerative Medicine
Vinay Prasad Professor / Interim Chair vprasad@ualberta.ca Process Systems Engineering: Modeling, Estimation, Control and Monitoring; Reaction Engineering and Catalysis; Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning; Chemoinformatics; Energy; Mineral Processing
Arvind Rajendran Professor arajendr@ualberta.ca Gas Separations, CO2 Capture, Absorption Fundamentals, Process Design and Optimization, Negative Emission Technologies
Farzaneh Sadri Assistant Professor fsadri@ualberta.ca Hydrometallurgical Treatment of Resource Materials, Critical Metals Processing, Rare Earth Element Extraction, Solution Purification, Secondary Resource Processing, Mining Waste Treatment, Sustainable Processing
R Sean Sanders Professor sean.sanders@ualberta.ca Pipeline Hydrotransport; Scale-Up of Multiphase Processes; CFD; Rheology of Industrial, non-Newtonian mixtures; Erosion-corrosion in Particle-laden Flows
Dominic Sauvageau Associate Professor dominic.sauvageau@ualberta.ca
Natalia Semagina Professor | Director of Institute for Oil Sands Innovation semagina@ualberta.ca Reaction Engineering and Catalysis, Energy
Joao Soares Professor jsoares@ualberta.ca Polymerization Reaction Engineering, Polyolefins, Polyethylene, Polypropylene, Polymer Flocculants, Oil Sands Tailings, Ziegler-Natta, Metallocenes, Polymer Characterization
Hasan Uludag Associate Professor hasan.uludag@ualberta.ca Biomedical Engineering, Nanomaterials and Nanofabrication
Larry Unsworth Professor larry.unsworth@ualberta.ca Biomedical Engineering, Nanomaterials and Nanofabrication, Surface Science and Engineering
Xiaolei Wang Assistant Professor xiaolei.wang@ualberta.ca Advanced Materials, Clean Energy Technologies, Electrochemistry and Electrocatalysis, Nanotechnology, Batteries and Supercapacitors
Anthony Yeung Professor/ Associate Chair, Undergraduate Program tony.yeung@ualberta.ca Engineering Department Executive, Fluid Dynamics, Oil Sands and Energy, Surface Science and Engineering
Hongbo Zeng Professor, Canada Research Chair hongbo.zeng@ualberta.ca Colloids and Interface Science, Biomedical Engineering, Materials Characterization and Processing, Nanomaterials, Oil Sands, Energy, Mineral Processing, Polymers Hydrogels
Hao Zhang Professor / Associate Chair, Graduate Program hao.zhang@ualberta.ca Engineering Department Executive Mathematical and Molecular Modeling Corrosion and Wear Materials Characterization and Processing Surface Science and Engineering Thermodynamics Metallurgy
Xuehua Zhang Professor Xuehua.zhang@ualberta.ca Supervisor, Nanomaterials and Nanofabrication, Transport Phenomena - Fluid Dynamics/ Mass and Heat Transfer, Nanomaterials And Nanofabrication, Oil Sands, Energy, Surface Science and Engineering
Name Title Email Research Areas
Artin Afacan Faculty Service Officer artin.afacan@ualberta.ca
Dave Sharp Faculty Service Officer dave.sharp@ualberta.ca
Name Title Email Research Areas
Christopher Coles ESRM Industrial Professor (Associate Director) ccoles@ualberta.ca School of Engineering Safety and Risk Managemen
John Cocchio Industrial Professor cocchio@ualberta.ca Engineering Design/Process Safety, Risk Management, Occupational Safety, Regulatory Compliance, Work Process Application
Marnie Jamieson Industrial Professor mvjamies@ualberta.ca
Lisa White Industrial Professor lisa.white@ualberta.ca School of Engineering Safety and Risk Management
Gordon Winkel Industrial Professor gord.winkel@ualberta.ca School of Engineering Safety and Risk Management