University celebrates three public health researchers

The University of Alberta has recognized the achievements of three School of Public Health faculty at Celebrate! Teaching. Learning. Research.

Donna Richardson - 16 October 2019

Each year, the University of Alberta honours the achievements of faculty, students and staff at Celebrate! Teaching. Learning. Research.

The event recognizes exemplary individuals: faculty who bring their research to life in the classroom; graduate and undergraduate students who have distinguished themselves for outstanding academic and extracurricular work; and staff that support research and learning.

This year, the University of Alberta recognized three School of Public Health faculty.

Susan Chatwood, Associate Professor, recipient of the Governor General's Polar Medal

Susan Chatwood has devoted her career to improving health services in remote northern communities. Through her leadership and research initiatives, she has advanced public health policy to meet the specialized needs of people living in Canada's North, while ensuring that Indigenous perspectives and traditional approaches are integrated into innovative health care practices.

In addition to her faculty position in the School of Public Health, she is scientific director of the Institute for Circumpolar Health Research.

The Polar Medal celebrates Canada's Northern heritage and recognizes individuals who render extraordinary services in the polar regions and Canada's North.

Zubia Mumtaz, Professor; inducted as Member of the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists; Royal Society of Canada

Zubia Mumtaz is an international leader in global maternal and reproductive health. Her research brings cutting-edge science and scholarship to address a key contemporary challenge: how can we reduce maternal mortality among poor, socially marginalized women living in fragile, often conflict-affected countries. Her research has been directly translated into national and global maternal health policies.

The Royal Society of Canada recognizes scholars for their outstanding achievements in advancing knowledge and understanding of the past and present.

Kim Raine, Professor, recipient of the honour of Distinguished Professor

Kim Raine has held research-intensive positions for 14 years and continues to lead an active research program into community-based and population-level policy driven health promotion interventions to improve food environments and prevent chronic disease. Her trainees are leaders in research, practice and policy throughout Canada and beyond, and many continue to be collaborators. Her program activity for the Distinguished Professorship includes exploring food environments in participation with remote, northern and Indigenous communities, consistent with the School's Northern Strategy.

Distinguished Professor is one of the highest honours the University of Alberta bestows on a member of its academic staff. It is reserved for individuals who have achieved international recognition in research, outstanding distinction in teaching and student supervision, and who are regarded as exceptional citizens.

"I am very proud of the accomplishments of Drs. Chatwood, Mumtaz and Raine," says Shanthi Johnson, dean of the School of Public Health. "Each one is a leader in her field. That they have been recognized with these awards and honours is a testament to the significant contributions they have made to advancing public health."