School of Public Health Students' Association

The School of Public Health Students' Association (SPHSA) is a student run organization that serves as an academic and social support system for students. We serve as a liaison between students and administration of the School.

We are here to ensure that you have the best experience possible as a student.


What do we do?

The objectives of SPHSA are:

  • to provide guidance and advocate on behalf of all students, including campus and distance students, and all specialty areas within the School of Public Health graduate programs.
  • to provide opportunities for, and inform School of Public Health students of, intellectual, cultural, social and recreational activities.
  • to ensure that School of Public Health graduate students are represented in the School of Public Health, the Graduate Students Association and the broader University of Alberta committees.
  • to increase awareness of public health principles and practice, public health research, and graduate education in public health.
  • to engage in and encourage public health initiatives, both local and global, on campus and in the community.

There are many opportunities for you to shape your experience in the School through SPHSA, so don't hesitate to get involved.

General Contact
E: sphsa@ualberta.ca

Elected Positions (2020)

Name
Email
Executive
Harmanjot Kahlon Harmanjot Kahlon
President
hkahlon@ualberta.ca
Daniel Yu Daniel Yu
Vice President
dyu4@ualberta.ca
Dee Dee Wong Dee Dee Wong
Communications Officer
deedee@ualberta.ca
Sam Yang Sam Yang
Financial Officer
sukmin@ualberta.ca
Danielle MacPherson Danielle MacPherson
Social Coordinator
dmacpher@ualberta.ca
Carina De Micheli Carina De Micheli
Social Coordinator
cdemiche@ualberta.ca
McKenzie Tilstra McKenzie Tilstra
Internal Relations
tilstra@ualberta.ca
Sari Valensky Sari Valensky
External Relations
valensky@ualberta.ca

Directors at Large
Edwina Veerasigam Edwina Veerasigam
Epidemiology
Director at Large
veerasin@ualberta.ca
Daniel Thomas Daniel Thomas
Occupational and Environmental Health Director at Large
dnthomas@ualberta.ca
Mara Steiner Mara Steiner
Health Policy and Management Director at Large
mysteine@ualberta.ca
Avash Puri Avash Puri
Global Health Director at Large
avash1@ualberta.ca
Kayla Blackadar Kayla Blackadar
Health Promotion Director at Large
kblackad@ualberta.ca
Vacant
Health Promotion Distance Director at Large
Vijata Sharma Vijata Sharma
Applied Biostatistics Director at Large
vijata@ualberta.ca
Gregory Farmer Gregory Farmer
Masters Director at Large
gfarmer@ualberta.ca
Marian Sanchez Marian Sanchez
PhD Director at Large
mcsanche@ualberta.ca