School of Public Health Students' Association

The School of Public Health Students' Association (SPHSA) is a student run organization that serves as an academic and social support system for students. We serve as a liaison between students and administration of the School.

We are here to ensure that you have the best experience possible as a student.


What do we do?

The objectives of SPHSA are:

  • to provide guidance and advocate on behalf of all students, including campus and distance students, and all specialty areas within the School of Public Health graduate programs.
  • to provide opportunities for, and inform School of Public Health students of, intellectual, cultural, social and recreational activities.
  • to ensure that School of Public Health graduate students are represented in the School of Public Health, the Graduate Students Association and the broader University of Alberta committees.
  • to increase awareness of public health principles and practice, public health research, and graduate education in public health.
  • to engage in and encourage public health initiatives, both local and global, on campus and in the community.

There are many opportunities for you to shape your experience in the School through SPHSA, so don't hesitate to get involved.

General Contact
E: sphsa@ualberta.ca

Elected Positions (2021)

Name
Email
Executive
Kaman Sandhu Kaman Sandhu
President

kaman2@ualberta.ca

Abigail Seewald Abigail Seewald
Vice President

aseewald@ualberta.ca

Monica Surti Monica Surti
Communications Officer

surti@ualberta.ca

Maddie Neufeld Maddie Neufeld
Financial Officer

mgneufel@ualberta.ca

Amanda Liew

Amanda Liew
Social Coordinator

aliew@ualberta.ca

Jenna Mulji Jenna Mulji
Social Coordinator

jmulji@ualberta.ca

Naima Raiz Naima Riaz
Internal Relations

nriaz@ualberta.ca

Hager Tesfaslassie Hager Tesfaslassie
External Relations

tesfasel@ualberta.ca


Directors at Large
Ekaete Usoh Ekaete Usoh
Epidemiology
Director at Large

usoh@ualberta.ca

Gun Hee (Daniel) Park Guh Hee (Daniel) Park
Occupational and Environmental Health Director at Large

gunhee@ualberta.ca

Erika Rodning

Erika Rodning
Health Policy and Management Director at Large

erodning@ualberta.ca

Anja Dzunic Anja Dzunic
Global Health Director at Large

dzunic@ualberta.ca

Rachel Stefaniuk Rachel Stefaniuk
Health Promotion (Campus) Director at Large

rcstefan@ualberta.ca

Kristen Deschamps Kristen Deschamps
Health Promotion (Distance) Director at Large

kdescham@ualberta.ca

Ariba Kamal Ariba Kamal
Applied Biostatistics Director at Large

ariba@ualberta.ca

Richard Roberts Richard Roberts
MSc Director at Large

rroberts@ualberta.ca

Shima Robinson

Shima Robinson
MACE Director at Large

shima@ualberta.ca 

Daniel Yu

Daniel Yu
PhD Director at Large

dyu4@ualberta.ca