Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Faculty

  • Joseph Buijs, PhD
    Professor Emeritus
    joseph.buijs@ualberta.ca 

    Specialization:
     Maimonides; Medieval Philosophy; Philosophy of Religion
  • Indre Cuplinskas, PhD
    Associate Professor
    indre@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5140
    Office 0-12 SJC


    Specialization:
    Catholic Church history; history of Christianity in Canada; Christianity and culture; 20th-century Catholicism; Catholic youth movements; Vatican II

  • Mark Dickens, PhD
    Assistant Professor
    dickens@ualberta.ca
    780.492.0808
    Office 0-10 SJC


    Specialization:
    Connections between Syriac Christianity and Central Asia in Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages

  • Paul Flaman, PhD

    Professor
    pflaman@ualberta.ca
    780.492.1843
    Office 1-24 SJC

    Specialization: Moral Theology, Spiritual Theology, Bioethics, Theology of Human Sexuality, Marriage and the Family, Theology of the Person

  • Shawn Flynn, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Academic Dean 
    shawn.flynn@ualberta.ca
    780.492.7683
    Office 1-23 SJC

    Specialization:
    Hebrew Bible, Mesopotamia, Comparative Studies, YHWHism, Development of Divinity, Ancient Children

  • Matthew Hoven, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    hoven@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5476
    Office 0-14 SJC

    Specialization: Religious Education, Catholic Education, Religion and Sports/Religion and Science; especially educational concerns

  • Doris Kieser, PhD
    Associate Professor
    dkieser@ualberta.ca
    780.492.8147
    Office 0-13 SJC

    Specialization: Sexuality ethics, Feminist ethics & theology, Bioethics, Moral theology, Teaching sexuality & theology, Theological anthropology, The sexual body

  • Matthew Kostelecky, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Associate Academic Dean 
    kostelec@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5643
    Office 0-16 SJC

    Specialization:
    14th Century Epistemology and Metaphysics, History of Philosophy

  • Nathan Kowalsky, PhD

    Associate Professor
    nek@ualberta.ca
    780.492.6438
    Office 0-08 SJC

    Specialization: Environmental philosophy and ethics; philosophy of religion; philosophy of culture; philosophy of technology

  • Denis Lamoureux, PhD

    Associate Professor
    dlamoure@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5132
    Office 0-24 SJC

    Specialization: Science and Religion, Evolution and Creationism

    Professor Page
  • Fr. Don McLeod, ThD

    Associate Professor
    don.mcleod@ualberta.ca
    780.492.9447
    Office 1-16 SJC

    Specialization: Theology (Systematics and the Social Teaching of the Church), Religious Education, Scripture (focus on the Gospels)

  • Lorne Zelyck, PhD

    Assistant Professor (on sabbatical)
    zelyck@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5272
    Office 0-11 SJC

    Specialization: Canonical and apocryphal gospels; New Testament; early Christianity; early church fathers; Gnosticism

Sessional Instructors

  • Suzette Bemault-Phillips, PhD

    Sessional Instructor 
    suzette2@ualberta.ca 

  • Jeffrey Brassard, PhD
    Sessional Instructor 
    jrbrassard@ualberta.ca

  • Bryan Clarke, PhD
    Sessional Instructor 
    bryan.clarke@ualberta.ca 

  • Paul Corrigan
    Sessional Instructor 
    ppc@ualberta.ca 

  • Katherine Dekker
    Sessional Instructor 
    dekker@ualberta.ca 

  • Mona-Lee Feehan, PhD
    Sessional Instructor

    Campus Minister 
    monalee@ualberta.ca
    780.492.4750
    Office 1-06A SJC

  • Mark Guevarra
    Sessional Instructor 

    mguevarr@ualberta.ca 

    Specialization: religious Education, Faith Formation, Sacramental Preparation, Parish Ministry

  • Julien Hammond
    Sessional Instructor 

    mguevarr@ualberta.ca 

    Specialization: Religious Education

  • Jack Kelly
    Sessional Instructor 
    jackk@ualberta.ca 

  • Andrew Kirk
    Sessional Instructor 
    adkirk@ualberta.ca 

    Specialization:
     Biblical Studies, Theology, Science & Theology, Leadership & Pastoral Care

  • Richard Kover, PhD
    Sessional Instructor

    kover@ualberta.ca
    780.492.0615
    Office 0-15 SJC 

    Specialization: Environmental Philosophy, Philosophy of Technology, Philosophical Anthropology, Psychoanalytic theory, and Social and Political thought

  • Fr. Daniel Kuc, PhD
    Sessional Instructor 
    kuc@ualberta.ca 

  • Hassan Masoud, PhD
    Sessional Instructor 
    hasan.masoud@ualberta.ca 

    Specialization:
     Logic, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language
  • Robert McKeon, PhD

    Sessional Instructor 
    mckeon@ualberta.ca

  • Gerard McLarney, PhD
    Sessional Instructor 

    gom@ualberta.ca 

  • Tim Nelson
    Sessional Instructor 
    tnnelson@ualberta.ca 

  • Brittney Nurse

    Sessional Instructor (on leave)
    Director of Campus Minister 
    bwhite@ualberta.ca
    780.492.9979
    Office 1-06C SJC

  • Sharon A. Pasula
    Sessional Instructor 
    rose_of_sharon@ualberta.net

    Specialization:
     Cross Cultural Consulting, Personal/community/program/spiritual development, Aboriginal identity
  • Jordan Robinson
    Sessional Instructor 
    jjrobins@ualberta.ca 

  • Charles Rodger, PhD
    Sessional Instructor 
    crodger@ualberta.ca 

    Specialization:
     German Idealism, Continental Philosophy

  • Fr. Warren Schmidt
    Sessional Instructor 
    wrschmid@ualberta.ca 

  • Sandra Talarico
    Sessional Instructor 
    stalaric@ualberta.ca