Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Faculty

  • Dr. Shawn W. Flynn

    Academic Dean
    Associate Professor 
    shawn.flynn@ualberta.ca
    780.492.7683
    Office 1-23 SJC

    Specialization:
    Hebrew Bible, Mesopotamia, Comparative Studies, YHWHism, Development of Divinity, Ancient Children

  • Dr. Indre Cuplinskas
      Associate Professor
    indre@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5140
    Office 0-12 SJC

    Specialization: Catholic Church history; history of Christianity in Canada; Christianity and culture; 20th-century Catholicism; Catholic youth movements; Vatican II

  • Dr. Paul Flaman
      Professor
    pflaman@ualberta.ca
    780.492.1843
    Office 1-24 SJC

    Specialization: Moral Theology, Spiritual Theology, Bioethics, Theology of Human Sexuality, Marriage and the Family, Theology of the Person

  • Dr. Matthew Hoven

    Associate Professor
    hoven@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5476
    Office 0-14 SJC

    Specialization: Religious Education, Catholic Education, Religion and Sports; especially educational concerns

  • Dr. Doris Kieser
    Associate Professor
    dkieser@ualberta.ca
    780.492.8147
    Office 0-13 SJC

    Specialization: Sexuality ethics, Feminist ethics & theology, Bioethics, Moral theology, Teaching sexuality & theology, Theological anthropology, The sexual body, Death and Dying.

  • Dr. Matthew Kostelecky
      Dr. Matthew Kostelecky
    kostelec@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5643
    Office 0-16 SJC

    Specialization: Medieval Philosophy (with particular focus on 13th and 14th century epistemological and metaphysical thought); History of Metaphysics; Philosophy of Religion.

     

  • Dr. Nathan Kowalsky

    Associate Professor
    nek@ualberta.ca
    780.492.6438
    Office 0-08 SJC

    Specialization: Environmental philosophy and ethics; philosophy of religion; philosophy of culture; philosophy of technology

  • Dr. Denis Lamoureux

    Professor
    dlamoure@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5132
    Office 0-24 SJC

    Specialization: Science and Religion, Evolution and Creationism

    Professor Page
  • Fr. Don McLeod, C.S.B., Th.D
      Associate Professor
    don.mcleod@ualberta.ca
    780.492.9447
    Office 1-16 SJC

    Specialization: Theology (Systematics and the Social Teaching of the Church), Religious Education, Scripture (focus on the Gospels)

  • Dr. Lorne Zelyck

    Assistant Professor (on sabbatical)
    zelyck@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5272
    Office 0-11 SJC

    Specialization: Canonical and apocryphal gospels; New Testament; early Christianity; early church fathers; Gnosticism

Professors Emeriti

  • Joseph Buijs

    Joseph.buijs@ualberta.ca

    Specialization: Maimonides; Medieval Philosophy; Philosophy of Religion

Sessional Instructors