Faculty

Faculty

  • Dr. Shawn W. Flynn
    Academic Dean
    Associate Professor
    shawn.flynn@ualberta.ca
    780.492.7683
    Office 1-22 SJC

    Specialization: Hebrew Bible, Mesopotamia, Comparative Studies, YHWHism, Development of Divinity, Ancient Children

     

  • Dr. Indre Cuplinskas

    Associate Academic Dean
    Associate Professor
    indre@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-12 SJC

    Specialization: Catholic Church history; history of Christianity in Canada; Christianity and culture; 20th-century Catholicism; Catholic youth movements; Vatican II

  • Dr. Paul Flaman
    Professor
    pflaman@ualberta.ca
    Office 1-24 SJC

    Specialization: Moral Theology, Spiritual Theology, Bioethics, Theology of Human Sexuality, Marriage and the Family, Theology of the Person

  • Dr. Matthew Hoven
    Associate Professor
    hoven@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-14 SJC

     

    Specialization: Religious Education, Catholic Education, Religion and Sports; especially educational concerns

  • Dr. Doris Kieser
    Associate Professor
    dkieser@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-13 SJC

     

    Specialization: Sexuality ethics, Feminist ethics & theology, Bioethics, Moral theology, Teaching sexuality & theology, Theological anthropology, The sexual body, Death and Dying.

  • Dr. Matthew Kostelecky
    Associate Professor
    kostelec@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-16 SJC

    Specialization: Medieval Philosophy (with particular focus on 13th and 14th century epistemological and metaphysical thought); History of Metaphysics; Philosophy of Religion.

     

  • Dr. Nathan Kowalsky
    Associate Professor
    nek@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-08 SJC

     

    Specialization: Environmental philosophy and ethics; philosophy of religion; philosophy of culture; philosophy of technology

  • Dr. Denis Lamoureux
    Professor
    dlamoure@ualberta.ca
    780.492.5132
    Office 0-24 SJC

     

    Specialization: Science and Religion, Evolution and Creationism

    Professor Page
  • Dr. Lorne Zelyck
    Assistant Professor
    zelyck@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-11 SJC

    Specialization: Canonical and apocryphal gospels; New Testament; early Christianity; early church fathers; Gnosticism

     

Professors Emeriti

  • Joseph Buijs

    Joseph.buijs@ualberta.ca

    Specialization: Maimonides; Medieval Philosophy; Philosophy of Religion

Sessional Instructors

  • Dr. Jeffrey Brassard
    Sessional Instructor
    jrbrassard@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-10 SJC

    Specialization: Media and Cultural Studies, Sociology of Religion, Youth and Religion, Religion and popular culture, Russian Culture

     

  • Dr. Suzette Bremault-Phillips

    Sessional Instructor
    suzette2@ualberta.ca

    Specialization: Spiritual Dimensions of Health, Wellness and Resilience; Moral Injury; Theological Anthropology; Practical Theology

     

  • Dr. Bryan Clarke
    Sessional Instructor
    bryan.clarke@ualberta.ca

     

     

  • Paul Corrigan
    Sessional Instructor
    ppc@ualberta.ca

     

  • Katherine Dekker
    Sessional Instructor
    dekker@ualberta.ca

     

  • Julian Di Castri
    Sessional Instructor
    dicastri@ualberta.ca

     

  • Dr. Mark Dickens
    Sessional Instructor
    dickens@ualberta.ca
    780.492.0808
    Office 1-21 SJC

     

    Specialization: Syriac Christianity, Silk Road, History of Central Asia & Middle East, World History

  • Dr. Mona-Lee Feehan
    Sessional Instructor
    monalee@ualberta.ca
    780.492.4750
    Office 1-06A SJC

     

    Specialization: Relationships, Couples Therapy, Marriage Preparation, Music Therapy

  • Michael Gillingham
    Sessional Instructor
    mgilling@ualberta.ca
  • Julien Hammond
    Sessional Instructor
    jhammond@ualberta.ca

     

  • Connie Hopkins

    Sessional Instructor
    cjhopkin@ualberta.ca

  • Jack Kelly
    Sessional Instructor
    jackk@ualberta.ca

     

  • Andrew Kirk
    Sessional Instructor
    adkirk@ualberta.ca

     

  • Dr. Richard Kover
    Sessional Instructor
    kover@ualberta.ca
    Office 0-15 SJC

     

    Specialization: Environmental philosophy, Philosophy of Technology, Psychoanalytic theory, Religious Existentialism, Political and Cultural theory, Philosophical Anthropology

  • Dr. Eugenia Kowalczyk

    Sessional Instructor
    pagnotta@ualberta.ca

  • Fr. Daniel Kuc, PhD
    Sessional Instructor
    kuc@ualberta.ca
  • Dr. Gerard McLarney
    Sessional Instructor
    gom@ualberta.ca

     

  • Tim Nelson

    Sessional Instructor
    tnnelson@ualberta.ca

     

  • Dr. Kenneth Ristau
    Sessional Instructor
    kristau@ualberta.ca
  • Jordan Robinson
    Sessional Instructor
    jjrobins@ualberta.ca

    Specialization: Sport and Spirituality, Faith and Culture, Religious Education, Catholic Leadership

     

  • Dr. Charles Rodger
    Sessional Instructor
    crodger@ualberta.ca

     

  • Fr. Warren Schmidt
    Sessional Instructor
    wrschmid@ualberta.ca

    Specialization: Liturgy, Sacramental theology, Development of Priestly Ordination Ritual and Theology since Vatican II.

     

  • Dr. Daniel Stadnicki
    Sessional Instructor
    stadnick@ualberta.ca
  • Sandra Talarico
    Sessional Instructor
    stalaric@ualberta.ca

    Specialization: Religious Education, Overview of the Catholic Faith, Religious Education Curriculum, Methodology of Teaching Religion in Catholic Schools