Faculty

Faculty

Dr. Shawn W. Flynn
President Associate Professor

shawn.flynn@ualberta.ca
780-492-7681
Office 1-14 SJC

Specialization: Hebrew Bible, Mesopotamia, Comparative Studies, YHWHism, Development of Divinity, Ancient Children

Dr. Indre Cuplinskas Associate Professorindre@ualberta.ca
Office 0-12 SJC

Specialization: Catholic Church history; history of Christianity in Canada; Christianity and culture; 20th-century Catholicism; Catholic youth movements; Vatican II

Dr. Matthew Hoven

Associate Professor Doris and Peter Kule Chair in Religious Education hoven@ualberta.ca
Office 0-14 SJC

Specialization: Religious Education, Catholic Education, Religion and Sports; especially educational concerns

Dr. Doris Kieser
Associate Academic Dean 
Associate Professor

dkieser@ualberta.ca
Office 0-13 SJC

Specialization: Sexuality ethics, Feminist ethics & theology, Bioethics, Moral theology, Teaching sexuality & theology, Theological anthropology, The sexual body, Death and Dying.

Dr. Matthew Kostelecky
Vice-President (Academic) and Dean

kostelec@ualberta.ca
Office 1-22 SJC

Specialization: Medieval Philosophy (with particular focus on 13th and 14th century epistemological and metaphysical thought); History of Metaphysics; Philosophy of Religion.
Dr. Nathan Kowalsky
Associate Professor

nek@ualberta.ca
Office 0-08 SJC

Specialization: Environmental philosophy and ethics; philosophy of religion; philosophy of culture; philosophy of technology

Dr. Denis Lamoureux
Professor

dlamoure@ualberta.ca
780-492-5132
Office 0-24 SJC

Specialization: Science and Religion, Evolution and Creationism
Professor Page

Fr. Warren Schmidt
Assistant Professor wrschmid@ualberta.ca

Specialization: Liturgy, Sacramental theology, Development of Priestly Ordination Ritual and Theology since Vatican II.

Dr. Lorne Zelyck
Associate Professor

zelyck@ualberta.ca
Office 0-11 SJC

Specialization: Canonical and apocryphal gospels; New Testament; early Christianity; early church fathers; Gnosticism

 

Sessional Instructors

Dr. Jeffrey Brassard
Sessional Instructor

jrbrassard@ualberta.ca
Office 0-10 SJC

Specialization: Media and Cultural Studies, Sociology of Religion, Youth and Religion, Religion and popular culture, Russian Culture

sjc-logo-greyscale.jpg

Fr. David Butorac, PhD
Sessional Instructor

dbutorac@ualberta.ca

 

 

adrienne-500px.jpg
Dr. Adrienne Castellon
Sessional Instructor acastell@ualberta.ca
Dr. Bryan Clarke
Sessional Instructor

bryan.clarke@ualberta.ca

 

 

Dr. Mona-Lee Feehan
Sessional Instructor

monalee@ualberta.ca
780.492.4750
Office 1-06A SJC

Specialization: Relationships, Couples Therapy, Marriage Preparation, Music Therapy

 

michael-gillingham-500px.jpg
Michael Gillingham
Sessional Instructor mgilling@ualberta.ca
sjc-logo-greyscale.jpg
Brian Glubish
Sessional Instructor

bglubish@ualberta.ca

 

Dr. Richard Kover
Sessional Instructor

kover@ualberta.ca

Specialization: Environmental philosophy, Philosophy of Technology, Psychoanalytic theory, Religious Existentialism, Political and Cultural theory, Philosophical Anthropology

 

eugenia-500px.jpg
Dr. Eugenia Kowalczyk

Sessional Instructor pagnotta@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

Fr. Daniel Kuc, PhD
Sessional Instructor kuc@ualberta.ca
sjc-logo-greyscale.jpg
Dr. Gerard McLarney
Sessional Instructor gom@ualberta.ca


mark-novak-500px.jpg
Dr. Mark Novak
Sessional Instructor mfnovak@ualberta.ca


sjc-logo-greyscale.jpg
Thomas Oberle
Sessional Instructor toberle@ualberta.ca


Jordan Robinson
Sessional Instructor jjrobins@ualberta.ca

Specialization: Sport and Spirituality, Faith and Culture, Religious Education, Catholic Leadership

sjc-logo-greyscale.jpg
Dr. Charles Rodger
Sessional Instructor crodger@ualberta.ca


sjc-logo-greyscale.jpg
Dr. Michael Rogers
Sessional Instructor mrogers3@ualberta.ca


dsarnecki.jpg
Dr. Dean Sarnecki
Sessional Instructor sarnecki@ualberta.ca

Specialization: Religious Education, Catholic Education, Catholic Teacher Formation, Ecological Concerns and Catholic Education.

 

Sandra Talarico
Sessional Instructor stalaric@ualberta.ca

Specialization: Religious Education, Overview of the Catholic Faith, Religious Education Curriculum, Methodology of Teaching Religion in Catholic Schools

sjc-logo-greyscale.jpg
Dr. Dana Tanner
Sessional Instructor tannerke@ualberta.ca

 

Professors Emeriti

Dr. Paul Flaman
Professor

pflaman@ualberta.ca
Office 1-24 SJC

Specialization: Moral Theology, Spiritual Theology, Bioethics, Theology of Human Sexuality, Marriage and the Family, Theology of the Person
 jbpic2020.jpg
Dr. Joseph Buijs
Professor

jbuijs@ualberta.ca

Specialization: Maimonides; Medieval Philosophy; Philosophy of Religion