Johann Strauss Foundation Award Winners, 2013 Announced

21 February 2013

Dean of the Faculty of Arts Lesley Cormack announced the winners of this year's Strauss Foundation Award for the Advanced Study of Music in Austria at this year's annual Strauss Ball, held at the Chateau Lacombe Hotel on Saturday, February 2. The following three students will be taking part in study programs in Austria this summer:

Award-winning pianist Elizabeth Clarke is in the final year of the Bachelor of Music Degree at the University of Alberta Augustana campus where she studies with Dr. Milton Schlosser. She has plans to take part this summer in international master classes at the Institute for the Study of Viennese Classics located at the Schloss Laudon in Vienna.

A graduate of the Bachelor of Music program at the University of Victoria, and currently studying with Professor Janet Scott Hoyt, Master's student Leslie Chen is the recipient of University of Alberta and Queen Elizabeth II Masters Scholarships. Leslie will take part in piano masterclasses at the International Summer Music Academy at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, Austria.

Matthew Walton, a pianist in the doctoral program at the University of Alberta studying with Professor Janet Scott Hoyt, graduated from Wilfred Laurier University with a Bachelor of Music in Piano Performance, and from the University of Ottawa with Masters of Music degrees in Piano Performance and Musicology. With extensive experience as a collaborative pianist and a keen interest in lieder and art song, Matthew will study at the Franz Schubert Institute in Baden bei Wien for five weeks this summer.