Wirth Institute Celebrates Croatia's EU Membership

10 July 2013

On Monday July 1 2013, Croatia became the 28th member state of the European Union. The Wirth Institute marked the occasion with a small celebration, pictured above, and enjoyed some traditional Croatian sweets courtesy our Croatian Research Fellow, Mr. Andel Starcevic.

The Wirth Institute congratulates Croatia on this development and looks forward to working with the University of Alberta's new European Union Centre of Excellence on issues relating to our EU member countries beginning this Fall 2013.

From left to right: Austrian Research Fellow Eva-Maria Mueller, Czech Research Fellow Jana Stejskalikova, Polish Research Fellow Ignacy Jozwiak, and Croatian Research Fellow Andel Starcevic.

For more, please follow the links below:

EU Centre of Excellence announcement

Croatian Embassy in Ottawa

Delegation of the European Union Embassy to Canada