Laboratory Medicine and Pathology

Department News

Congratulations to Dr. Steve E. Hrudey, C.M., A.O.E. on his Order of Canada Appointment. Engineer Steve Hrudey has devoted his career to protecting public health through safer drinking water. A world-respected author and researcher, he has examined the causes of water-borne illness, notably through the Walkerton Inquiry and as a member of the expert panel on drinking water for Indigenous communities. His transformative recommendations have informed water safety planning in Canada, in many other countries and at the World Health Organization. A professor emeritus at the University of Alberta, he galvanized the creation of new research and education programs connecting human health and environmental issues.
Dr. Hrudey and Dr. Brian Sykes were the only 2 active academics from a single university at the November 2022 Order of Canada ceremony!
(Photo of Dr. Steve Hrudey and The Governor General of Canada, Mary Simon)
Dr. Hrudey and Governor General

Graduate Student Wei (Claire) Feng, Division of Analytical and Environmental Toxicology, received the 2022 CIC Analytical Chemistry Division Ryan-Harris Graduate Award. The award recognizes her academic excellence and research achievement in understanding CRISPR systems for developing diagnostic assays. Claire will deliver an award lecture at the 105th Canadian Society for Chemistry Conference, to be held in Calgary on June 13-18, 2022. She will also receive a plaque and $750 cash award. Congratulations Claire!

Congratulations to the 2022 Summer Studentship Stipend Recipients

  • Celina Phan (supervisor Dr. Jason Acker)
  • Gabrielle Versailles (supervisor Dr. Susan Nahirniak)
  • Jonathan Walter (supervisor Dr. Andrei Drabovich)
Dr. Evelyn Asiedu (BSc UWO 2013, PhD Lab Med & Pathology, UofA 2020, now EDI postdoc at Thompson Rivers University) is the 2022 winner of the inaugural Gilead Early Career Award for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion from the Canadian Society of Chemistry. Please view the award announcement at this link. She will receive the award at the national chemistry meeting in June in Calgary.

Dr. Xing-Fang Li has been elected to the Royal Society of Canada (Academy of Science) as a Fellow. The official press release of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) states today that “new Fellows have been elected by their peers for their outstanding scholarly, scientific and artistic achievement. Recognition by the RSC for career achievement is the highest honour an individual can achieve in the Arts, Social Sciences and Sciences.” (
(See Folio Article:

Dr. Li is recognized for her career achievement in analytical chemistry and water research. Her research team develops innovative techniques that enable ultrasensitive detection of environmental contaminants, microbial pathogens, and biomolecular interactions. Her research program contributes to water safety and public health protection. Dr. Li credits her team, colleagues, collaborators, mentors, mentees, friends, and family for their contributions, encouragement, and support!

Steven Dang and his supervisors, Josh Raizman and Albert Tsui, both clinical biochemists with Alberta Precision Laboratories (APL) and members of the U of A’s Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, developed a new protocol to alert emergency room doctors of the potential for misdiagnosing patients receiving treatment, helping to ensure correct patient care in these situations.

(See entire Folio article at:

Michael Mengel, of the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology, is the project leader for the Alberta Diagnostics Ecosystem Platform for Translation (ADEPT). This new province wide precision diagnostics platform will break down barriers faced by universities and industry in bringing diagnostic innovation ideas to the marketplace. ADEPT has been awarded support through the Health Innovation Platform Partnerships (HIPP) program. The initial HIPP contribution is $200,000 for nine months to allow the platform partners (University of Alberta, University of Calgary, Alberta Precision Laboratories (APL), DynaLife DIagnostics, Alberta Precision Exchange (APEX) time to develop proof-of-concept and qualify for further funding.
(See entire Folio article at:

Dr. Jason Acker has been selected as the recipient of the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry's Tier I Basic Science Award for Excellence in Mentoring Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows, an award that our Faculty holds in the highest esteem.  This award recognizes Dr. Acker’s outstanding mentoring capabilities, commitment to providing the best possible learning environment and unfailing encouragement and support to students, including supporting their professional placement and career goals.

 Dr. Jelena Holovati has received one of FGSR's (Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research) Great Supervisor Awards.  The purpose of this award is to recognize supervisors who demonstrate superb supervisory skills or foster mentorship in their programs.  Dr. Holovati was nominated for her excellent supervisory skills and collaboration with graduate students.

Congratulations to Professor Xing-Fang Li for receiving the 2020 Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) Ricardo Aroca Award. Dr. Li, Professor in the Division of Analytical and Environmental Toxicology, is recognized for her distinguished contributions to analytical chemistry for water research and environmental health. The award, which consists of a framed scroll, $1,000 cash and up to $1000 for travel expenses to this CSC Conference, will be presented during the 103rd Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition which took place in Winnipeg on May 24-28, 2020.

Career Paths and Training DRIvE Days Banff Pathology Course

Department Events