Message from the Chair

Welcome to the home page of the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine at the University of Alberta. Our department is committed to excellence in clinical care, exemplary postgraduate education in anesthesiology, perioperative and pain medicine; and the discovery and dissemination of new knowledge in both basic science and clinical/translational research.

Our faculty are based at 9 hospitals/institutions:

  1. University of Alberta Hospital and the Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute
  2. Royal Alexandra Hospital (including the Orthopedic Surgery Center and the Lois Hole Hospital for Women)
  3. Stollery Children's Hospital
  4. Grey Nuns Community Hospital
  5. Misericordia Community Hospital
  6. Sturgeon Community Hospital
  7. Fort Saskatchewan Community Hospital
  8. Leduc Community Hospital
  9. Cross Cancer Institute

These facilities provide a full range of complex medical and surgical care including: trauma, cardiac, neuro, vascular, and thoracic surgery, critical care, obstetrics (>14,000 deliveries/yr) and gynecology, burns, surgical and critical care of infants and children and solid organ (heart/lung, liver, and kidney) transplantation. The University of Alberta serves as the quaternary care center for extracorporeal life support (ECMO and VAD), heart, liver and lung transplantation, as well as pediatric and adult congenital heart surgery for the four western Canadian provinces.

Our faculty's research interests include mechanisms of myocardial protection, cardiovascular pharmacology, applied pharmacology of local anesthetic agents, blood and blood substitutes, innovative methods of acute and chronic pain management, acute kidney injury, intravenous fluid therapy and population based outcome studies. The Department has a full-time research infrastructure including extensive wet lab (basic science) programs which support the ongoing research activities of faculty and residents.

I am immensely proud of all of our people, and I encourage you to contact us and find out more about them and the incredible work they all do every day.

Derek Dillane
Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine

The Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry at the University of Alberta is dedicated to leading the advancement of the disciplines of anesthesiology and pain management through the delivery of exemplary:

  • Clinical care
  • Teaching of undergraduate and postgraduate trainees
  • Basic science and clinical research

A community-based team of more than 200 department members - composed of anesthesiologists, scientists, educators and allied health professionals - provide services to six Edmonton hospitals, and the people of northern and western Alberta.

Our department is ranked among the leading academic departments in this field in the country. We place heavy emphasis on clinical experience, academic activities and research. We provide training to anesthesiologists of all disciplines, and base our anesthesia care and teaching on clinical and laboratory research.


Dr. Dillane

Derek Dillane
Associate Professor

Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine