Research Interests

Our department is fortunate to have several internationally known researchers. Generally, our research focuses in the areas of pain, cardiovascular and regional anesthesia. More specifically, some faculty research interests include:

  • Mechanisms of myocardial protection
  • Stem cells and Anesthetics
  • Genetics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics, and Metabolomics
  • Cardiovascular pharmacology
  • Applied pharmacology of local anesthetic agents
  • Blood and blood substitutes
  • Innovative methods of acute and chronic pain management
  • Population-based outcome studies

Summer Student Opportunities

All spots have been filled for spring/summer 2024.

The Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine invites interested students to fill out the summer studentship form. Unfortunately, we receive more applications than we have space, but try to match everyone up with a researcher if possible.

Meet the Research Faculty

Pain Research Cardiovascular Research Regional Anesthesiology Research

Dr. Bruce Dick

Dr. Bradley Kerr

Dr. Saifee Rashiq

Dr. Stephane Bourque

Dr. Michael Zaugg

Dr. Derek Dillane


UofA Pain Interest Group

The Pain Interest Group consists of researchers with either a basic science or clinical background. This group was founded with a goal of strengthening the collaboration between the two fields in addition to increasing the knowledge of pain-related topics.

The Pain Interest Group has developed Lunch and Learn sessions which occur several times a year and cover various pain-related topics highlighting research findings from a basic science approach and clinical observations. Lunch and Learn sessions will be posted once scheduled.


Dr Bradley Kerr (Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine)

Kathy Reid, RN, MN, NP (Stollery Pediatric Chronic Pain Services)

Dr Saifee Rashiq (Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine)

Dr Derek Dillane (Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine)

Dr Bruce Dick (Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, Psychiatry)

Dr Mark Simmonds (Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine)

Dr Jabulani Moyo (Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine)

Dr Peter Smith (Pharmacology)

Dr Anna Taylor (Pharmacology)

Dr Monica Gorassini (Biomedical Engineering)

Dr Geoff Bostick (Rehabilitation Medicine)

Dr Jaynie Yang (Rehabilitation Medicine)

Dr Doug Gross (Rehabilitation Medicine)

Dr Christine Webber (Anatomy)

Dr Douglas Zochodne (Neurology)

Dr Lawrence Richer (Pediatrics)