Rouzbeh Maani, Martha White, Siamak Ravanbakhsh to receive Faculty of Science Dissertation Awards

Three recent Ph.D. Graduates have earned the prestigious Faculty of Science Dissertation Award

UofA CS Department - 5 February 2015

Dr. Rouzbeh Maani, Dr. Martha White, and Dr. Siamak Ravanbakhsh, three recent PhD graduates from the department of Computing Science, have each been selected as recipients of the Faculty of Science Doctoral Dissertation Award.

Dr. Maani is receiving the award for the thesis entitled "Robust Texture Features with Applications in Medical Imaging", co-supervised by Prof. Herb Yang of CS and Prof. Sanjay Kalra of Neurology.

Dr. White will be receiving the award for the thesis "Regularized Factor Models", co-supervised by Dale Schuurmans and Michael Bowling.

Dr. Ravanbakhsh is receiving the award for the thesis entitled "Message Passing and Combinatorial Optimization", supervised by Prof. Russ Greiner.

This award is granted to only the highest quality theses each year, with only 9 awards given in 2014, and 8 in 2013.